Oran elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences
Elaine Oran, Glenn L. Martin Institute professor of engineering at the Clark School, is one of two University of Maryland faculty members elected to the 2018 class of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Oran is among 213 new members of the academy being recognized for their accomplishments as scholars, scientists, writers, artists, and civic and philanthropic leaders.

A higher-energy, safer and longer-lasting zinc battery
Again establishing the University of Maryland as a leader in the development of groundbreaking battery technology, a team led by Clark School researchers has created a water-based zinc battery that is simultaneously powerful, rechargeable, and intrinsically safe. A peer-reviewed paper based on the research was published April 16 in the high-impact journal Nature Materials .

Computational approach to understanding brain dynamics
Research by a team of University of Maryland theoreticians and experimentalists just published in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America (PNAS) provides a new computational approach to understanding the brain that probes the dynamic and changing functional interactions between the nodes in its neuronal networks.

Spring 2018 Engineering at Maryland magazine
The Spring 2018 issue of Engineering at Maryland magazine has been released. The content focuses on Clark School student teams developing tomorrow's winning solutions. This latest issue
also features an original cover illustration by
Baltimore-based artist David Plunkert, whose artwork was recently chosen for a new set of Forever Stamps.

A triad of grant-related news
Three Fischell Department of Bioengineering professors each received a National Institutes of Health (NIH) Research Project Grant (R01) .

Four faculty members received funding through the Defense University Research Instrumentation Program (DURIP).

Professor Michael Zachariah is a member of a 2018 Multidisciplinary University Research Initiative (MURI) award.