LIBRARY UPDATES
*NEW* Expanded Weekend In-Library Hours

Starting Sunday, September 20th we are adding in-person appointments during normal Sunday business hours. Grab and Go service remains available. (12pm-4pm)

Starting Saturday, September 26th we are expanding in-person appointments through the afternoon during Saturday business hours. Grab and Go service remains available. (9am-5pm)

Call the Library at 847-526-6225 to make your in-library appointment
LIBRARY PROGRAMS
September 16, 11 a.m. -7:00 p.m.

Register to read with a librarian. Each child will receive their own 20 minute appointment to read one on one via Zoom. A great way to build confidence and increase fluency.
Sign up each week for a slot, families with multiple readers sign up each reader individually.
Family Fun Storytime at the Park

Get the whole family together because all ages will have fun at the park with stories, music, and some dancing.

Meeting at Converse Park
628 E State Rd, Island Lake, IL 60042
Weather permitting

Registration Required
Please register for only one storytime per week. Repeated Tuesday & Thursday.

Masks and social distancing are required for anyone aged 2 and over for the safety and enjoyment of everyone.
September 21, 6:00 p.m.

Join us for a read along!
Miss Julianne will read a chapter or two each Monday evening. For a half hour we will use our imaginations and discover a new story. 
This week: The Mouse and the Motorcycle - Beverly Cleary
Register to receive the program link via email.
Monday, September 21, 7:00 p.m.

Join us on Zoom to discuss this month's Virtual Non-Fiction Book Club selection:  The Hidden Life of Trees by Peter Wohlleben. Books are available in eBook format from Hoopla using your Wauconda Area Library card.
READING RECOMMENDATIONS
by Sally Rooney

Submitted by Kelly K.
I really enjoyed this novel. I liked seeing the growth of the 2 teenagers, Marianne and Connell, who are from different backgrounds. We see the characters over the years and how they evolve into their college experience, how their minds operate, their interactions, and how their relationship changes. It is interesting to title it Normal People – we all have pasts and identities that evolve over time and this book explores the hidden motivations and desires we all have: to fit in or not, to be normal or not, and what that means in terms of self-actualization.
by Douglas W. Tallamy

Submitted by Kelly F.
Read this hopeful book to learn about a new environmental ethic for right now. This book features nature photography and interesting answers to “why should we care?” questions. What people do in their own backyards makes a vital difference for wildlife. Learn practical steps you can take to make your yard a better place with more native plants, more wildlife habitat, and more enjoyment for you and those who will follow.
by Renee Watson & Ellen Hagan

Submitted by Julianne M.
Chelsea and Jasmine attend a social justice based high school in New York City. When they get fed up with the way women are being treated at their school they start a women’s rights club. Chelsea, who is a poet, and Jasmine, an actress with a gift for words, create a popular blog called "Write Like a Girl" for their school club. Soon the popularity of the blog is overshadowed by racist jokes and negative comments, things start to get out of hand, and Chelsea and Jasmine have to decide what they are willing to fight for and what they are willing to sacrifice to keep the club going. Watson tackles stereotypes, macroaggressions, and sexism in a story showing that teen girls can be just as powerful as any adult and can fight for the changes they want to see. 
by David Bowles

Submitted by Stefanie M.
Malia, Dante, and Ivan are staying with their Aunt Lucy for the summer in a neighborhood called Little Mexico. On their way to the water park one day, they encounter a mysterious woman who shows them a shortcut. When the cousins follow her instructions, the sky darkens, a storm is brewing, and they discover that they are on 13th Street, an alternate dimension filled with Snatch Bats (a.k.a. giant bats who have really bad breath)! Will they be able to defeat the bats and find a way back home?
An engaging and spooky series opener perfect for fans of The Haunted Library, Desmond Cole Ghost Patrol, or Eerie Elementary.
Recommended for Grades 2+
by Peter Wohlleben

Submitted by Kelly K.
A companion to the popular adult non-fiction book The Hidden Life of Trees by the same author, this is a wonderful exploration of trees and little-known facts about them. Kids will love the photos, games, activities, questions and answers, and will be begging to go outside and explore the forest.
by Suzanne Bloom

Submitted by Regina S.
A great read for social emotional learning, this sweet book features a variety of animal friends who like each other despite and because of their differences.
DATABASE OF THE WEEK

Browse educational and engaging videos for children of all ages that promote positive social and emotional development and inspire creativity in young minds.

Completely FREE with your Wauconda Area Library card.
Follow us on our social media!