Wednesday, August 12, 2020
For Immediate Release
Media Contact: Jennifer Marshall-Higgins
Director Customer & Marketing Services
254.709.5256 |
Temple ISD 1 of 5 Finalists for TASA’s 2020 Outstanding School Board Award
Dr. Sandhya Sanghi, Linell Davis, Shannon Gowan, Bobby Ott (Temple ISD Superintendent), Dan Posey (Board President), Ronnie Gaines (Board Vice-President), Shannon Myers and Virginia Suarez (Board Secretary)
WACO, Texas - The Texas Association of School Administrators (TASA) has named five Honor Boards as finalists for the 2020 Outstanding School Board Award. Among the five selected is Region 12’s Temple ISD Board of Trustees. The other four finalists are: Sheldon ISD, Mesquite ISD, Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD, and Tornillo ISD. Each year, the program recognizes outstanding Texas school boards for commitment and service that has made a positive impact on Texas public school students.

The five Honor Boards were selected by a committee of Texas school superintendents, chaired by Harlingen CISD Superintendent Art Cavazos, whose school board was named the Outstanding School Board for 2019. The selection committee’s decisions were based on criteria that include: support for educational performance, support for educational improvement projects, commitment to a code of ethics, and maintenance of harmonious and supportive relationships among board members.

“The committee described the TISD Board of Trustees’ efforts as comprehensive and intentional with a ‘high standard of excellence,’” TASA reported. “They were particularly impressed by the board’s gender equity plan and Project Diploma program.”

The TISD Board of Trustees was nominated for the award by Superintendent Bobby Ott. “There is not another staff, in any district, that feels more supported by their board of trustees than TISD,” wrote Ott in his nomination. “Board Members have an ear to the ground and a hand in supporting all school staff in establishing policies that allow for fully provisioned classrooms, first-class facilities, a safe environment, and a caring place for educating our student population.”

The Temple ISD Board of Trustees was also recognized as an Honor Board in 2001 and 1983.

In the fall, all five Honor Boards will be interviewed in conjunction with txEDCON, the TASA|TASB Convention. During that September 30-October 2 virtual event, one board will be named Outstanding School Board. The other Honor Boards, as well as nine regional winners, will also be recognized during the event.

About TASAs’ School Board Awards Program
Since 1971, the TASA School Board Awards program has honored Texas school district boards of trustees that have demonstrated dedication to student achievement and that put students first. The program is facilitated by TASA, the professional association for Texas school superintendents and other administrators. The mission of the organization, which focuses on professional learning, advocacy and member engagement, is to promote, provide and develop leaders who create and sustain student-centered schools and develop future-ready students

About Education Service Center Region 12
Education Service Center Region 12 focuses on helping schools save money and leverage resources into the classroom. One of 20 regional education service centers statewide, ESC Region 12 offers training and expert assistance to educators and school personnel in order to increase student achievement. ESC Region 12 offers effective, economical programs and services through professional development, expert assistance, direct services and alternative educator certification. Based in Waco, ESC Region 12 serves 76 school districts, 10 charters and private/parochial schools in Bell, Bosque, Coryell, Falls, Freestone, Hamilton, Hill, Lampasas, Limestone, McLennan, Mills and Navarro counties. 
ESC Region 12 | 254-297-1212 | |