February 2019 e-Notes
OhioMTA is starting the new year off strong!
New Logo Design
OhioMTA's new logo was officially unveiled at the January 2019 Executive Committee meeting.
Thank you, Joy Morin for spearheading the project!
OhioMTA Welcomes the Following New* & Returning• Members!
Theresa Abler*
Brynna Bailer*
Olga Boronilo*
Vivian Chan*
Simon Goykhman*
Jenna Hoffman*
Jana Merkel*
Rebekah Smith*
David Warf •
Stephanie Wu*
Lin Ye*
MTNA 2019 National Conference
Spokane, WA March 16-20
Members save $100.00 if you register for
the conference on or before February 6th!
Register Here today!

Renowned pianist Ingrid Fliter and the award-winning Transcontinental Saxophone Quartet will highlight the evening recitals. Alan Walker, preeminent Liszt and Chopin scholar, will present the keynote address based on his newest book, Fryderyk Chopin: A Life and Times. Pedagogy Saturday boasts five tracks: Entrepreneurism, Musician Wellness, Recreational Music Making, Teaching Artistry, and Teaching those with Special Needs. And, all the annual favorites like the Exhibit Hall, showcases and the MTNA National Student Competitions (see below) will be back! 
For complete schedule, see:
Register Here today!
Buckeye Auditions Registration is Open
Online registration for the OhioMTA State Buckeye Auditions is OPEN!
For complete information and link to the online registration form, click Buckeye Auditions
Sheila Vail
OhioMTA 2019 Foundation Fellow
Sheila Vail
Sheila will be honored as this year's OhioMTA Foundation Fellow at the MTNA Conference Gala Monday, March 18, 6:00 pm. Be sure to include this special dinner in your conference registration!
MTNA Divisional Competitions
Congratulations to the OhioMTA entrants who placed at East Central Division of MTNA Competitions!!

Division Winners and Representatives will travel to compete at the MTNA National Conference in March in Spokane, Washington, March 16–20, 2019. For competition schedule, click here.

Chamber Music String , Representative
Djinn (OH)
Gretchen Hill, Clarinet
Ling-Na Kao, Violin
Ivan Yamugulov, Piano
Penny Kruse, teacher

Junior Composition , Honorable Mention
Margaret Chen (OH)
Nancy Bachus, teacher

Junior Performance Woodwind , Representative
JengYee Chan (OH), Oboe
Jessica Smithorn, teacher

Senior Composition , Honorable Mention
Lucas Huang (OH)
Bradley Sowash, teacher

Senior Performance String , Winner
Andrew Yang (OH), Violin
Won-Bin Yim, teacher 

Senior Piano Duet , Representative
Andrew Huang & Timothy Dang (OH)
Esther Chu, teacher

Young Artist Performance String , Alternate
Yu-Chih Chang (OH), Violin
Won-Bin Yim, teacher

Young Artist Performance Voice , Winner
Lindsay Webber (OH), Soprano
Randall Umstead, teacher
OhioMTA Group Dinner at National Conference
Arrangements for OhioMTA's "state" dinner for members and their guests attending the National Conference are in the works! Mark your calendars for Sunday, March 17, 7:30 pm and be watching your email for details and RSVP. Looking forward to seeing everyone there for this fun and festive occassion!