We have a new address!
On February 10, we moved into a smaller office complex near the PNC Arena. Our new address is
1401 Sunday Drive, Ste 116
Raleigh, NC 27607. View on map

If you are visiting, we are located on the back side of the office complex. It is easier to enter from Kingdom Way.
Warren elected president of the board,
new board members elected
Executive Committee named
Brandon Warren of Clinton, pictured, has been elected president of the North Carolina Pork Council Board of Directors. Warren has served on the N.C. Pork Council board since 2010 and served as vice president last year. Warren’s multi-generational family farm includes row crops, a large herd of beef cattle and a 3,300-sow, farrow-to-finish operation.

Everett Johnson of Siloam was elected vice-president. Johnson has been raising hogs with his brother since 1985. He has served on the N.C. Pork Council board since 2003 and has served as secretary/treasurer for the past eight years.

Gaye Crowther of Tabor City was elected secretary-treasurer. Crowther owns Seawright Farms, a farrow-to-wean operation, and a sow farm, Sea Gro. Her farming operations also include Sea Blu (40 acres of blueberries), and a cow-calf operation.

Mark Daughtry of Clinton will continue to serve on the board as the immediate past president. Daughtry is a Clinton hog farmer and sow production manager for Prestage Farms. He has been a member of the N.C. Pork Council board since 2011.
Re-elected as at-large members of the executive committee were Don Butler, Elwood Garner, Jim Lynch and Lorenda Overman.

Election brings in new members
In addition to the officers, five new board members were elected to represent three of the board’s four districts. Each representative will serve for three years. Three other members were re-elected for a second term.

Chris Conser of Mount Pleasant was elected to represent District 1. He works with his wife and in-laws on their 1,000-acre farm, which includes 2,200 sows, plus poultry and beef cattle. In addition to traditional farming, Chris is co-owner of a wedding venue that the family operates as agritourism on the working farm.

Greg Simmons of Kinston was elected to represent District 3. He has been with Maxwell Foods since 1994 serving as a nursery/ finishing serviceman. His responsibilities include all aspects of swine management on contract farms from wean to finish.

Tracy Woodard of Snow Hill was elected to represent District 3. He is employed with Maxwell Foods where he supervises their biological laboratories and works with the sow division facilitating their artificial breeding program.

Ray Cooke of Kenansville will represent District 4. He is a production director with Smithfield Hog Production where he has worked for the past 27 years. He has served in several production-related management positions in both sow production and grow out.

Jerry Hairr of Clinton will also represent District 4. He has worked in all areas of farm management and production management. Today, Hairr is the production development and organizational improvement manager for Smithfield’s South-Central region.

The following board members were reelected to their districts: Robin Lackey of Hurdle Mills will continue to represent District 1, and Brian Kennedy of Kenansville will represent District 4. Also, Gene Nemecheck, DVM, was reelected to represent associated industries. Jim Lynch of Goldsboro was re-appointed by the board to an at-large position.

Dr. Paula Cray was reappointed to the board to represent the NC State School of Veterinary Medicine. Dr. Steven Lommel, associate dean and director for the N.C. Agricultural Research Service in N.C. State University’s College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, has been appointed to represent the college. Lommel replaces Dr. Roger Crickenberger, who retired from the NC State College of Agriculture and Life Sciences. Dr. Todd See was also reappointed to represent CALS. Neil Bowman, assistant director of livestock marketing was appointed to the board by Agriculture Commissioner Steve Troxler to represent the N.C. Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services.

The N.C. Pork Council board is comprised of 18 district directors elected by the membership. Additional board members include representatives from allied industries and meat processors. Anyone serving on a national pork industry board is included at the state level as well. Representatives of N.C. State University, the N.C. State College of Veterinary Medicine and the N.C. Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services serve as non-voting members of the board.

Farmers in the News
NC hog farmer appointed to state commission
Governor Cooper has appointed NCPC member Albert Beatty of Harrells to the North Carolina Agriculture and Forestry Awareness Study Commission. The Ag and Forestry Awareness Commission was created by the General Assembly to bring attention to the importance of the agriculture industry in the state, to identify barriers to future growth and development, and to find new ways the State might support agricultural producers.

Al and his wife Ada are contract growers with Prestage Farms. In addition to swine, they grow beef cattle, goats, hay, corn and soybeans.

The Ag and Forestry Awareness Commission consists of both citizen members as well as members of the NC House and NC Senate.
NC Pork News
Award winners announced
Make plans to join us at noon on March 8 to honor our 2018 Award Winners at the annual conference in Raleigh. We have a full slate of outstanding winners. Please pre-register if you plan to attend. Lunch is $10 in advance or $15 on the day of the conference.
And the winners are...
Hall of Fame inductees:
Wilbur & Mary Earp of Funston Farms in Winnabow 

Lois G. Britt Service Award:
Don Butler of Clinton 

Outstanding Pork Producer of the Year:
Charles Gillespie of Elizabethtown 

W.W. Shay Award for Industry Distinction:
Roland Scheiber of Hampstead 

Emerging Leader Award:
Marlowe Vaughan of Goldsboro 

Award for Excellence in Innovation:
Gus Simmons of Hampstead
There's still time to register for the
2018 NC Pork Conference
Registration is still available for the 2018 NC Pork Annual Conference, March 8 at the beautiful, new StateView Hotel in Raleigh! The conference is free and the only cost is $10 for the awards lunch at noon. Visit our website for more information .

The annual members-only PAC fundraiser, the Bacon Bash , will take place Wednesday, March 7 at 5:30 p.m. at the StateView.
Upcoming Events
We will be showcasing our Virtual Reality Experience at the following events:

March 1 Maxwell Center Grand Opening 9 a.m. - 3 p.m.
March 21 - 23 NCSU Farm Animal Days 9 a.m. - 2 p.m.

Come and join us!
Connect with @NCPork on our social channels
Share your pork pride using #NCPorkProud