The Border
by Don Winslow

In Stephen King’s words regarding The Border, "Everyone in America--left, right, and center--should read this book. It's social fiction to rival Tom Wolfe and John Steinbeck.” 

This is the final in Winslow’s epic Cartel series, though works well on its own. This suspenseful thriller buzzes with non-stop action. Dark, twisted, TIMELY, and compelling!

(Fiction/Crime Thriller)
Lost Children Archive
by Valeria Luiselli

A fiercely imaginative novel about a family's summer road trip across America--a journey that, with breathtaking imagery and profound humanity, probes the nature of justice and equality in America today. This stunning novel makes a devastating case for compassion by documenting the tragic shortcomings of the immigration process, making it one of few novels that fully and powerfully convey the urgency of this unsettling situation.
(Fiction)
Bowlaway
by Elizabeth McCracken

A stellar novel about an unconventional New England family facing scandal, inheritance battles, and questions of paternities as viewed through their three generations of owning and operating a candlepin bowling alley in the town of Salford, Massachusetts.
This compassionate and rambunctious saga about love, grief, prejudice, and the courage to be one’s self chimes with novels by John Irving, Audrey Niffenegger, and Alice Hoffman. 
(Fiction)
The Silent Patient
by Alex Michaelides

A criminal psychotherapist becomes dangerously obsessed with uncovering the truth about what prompted his client, an artist who refuses to speak, to violently murder her husband. Led on a dark path, readers will quickly guess that there is more to her story than what meets the eye. The big surprise lies in the deep betrayals and the shock of an ending.

Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Ruth Ware and Paula Hawkins.

(Fiction/Psychological Thriller)
We Must Be Brave
by Frances Liardet

In the spirit of The Light Between Oceans and The Nightingale , here is a richly detailed story about courage and kindness, hardship and friendship, and the astonishing power of love. This sweeping novel movingly depicts how a woman who thought she did not want children could bond so strongly, and with one child in particular. Spanning over a period of thirty years, this moving tale will appeal to readers who enjoy tales of village life completed by a cast of quirky and endearing characters.
(Fiction) 
The Next to Die
by Sophie Hannah

Books are not only everywhere in this serial killer investigative, they’re also the key to identifying the murderer. A stand-up comedian wonders who she can trust when she anonymously receives the same token clue, a small white book, also found at each scene of a serial murder case. A wonderfully played-out puzzle, with food for thought about the importance of books.
(Fiction/Suspense)
Finding Dorothy
by Elizabeth Letts

The story behind the story of The Wizard of Oz! A well-researched and beautifully written novel, told through the voice of Maude Gage Baum, wife of L. Frank Baum. The author weaves two narratives: Hollywood in 1938-1939, during the making of the legendary film, and Maude’s childhood and marriage to L. Frank Baum.

From the hardscrabble life in the Dakota Territory, to the 1893 Columbian Exposition and beyond to Hollywood, the novel is rich in history with a fascinating “behind the scenes” storyline, providing an inside look at the experiences in Baum’s life which inspired him to pen one of the greatest stories of all time.

A must read for Oz fans!

(Fiction/Historical)
American Duchess
by Karen Harper

Before Meghan and Harry, another American ‘princess’ captured the hand of an English aristocrat. This is the tale of Consuelo Vanderbilt, her “The Wedding of the Century” to the Duke of Marlborough, and with it the realization that “all that glitters is not gold.” A sweeping history of the Gilded Age, this novel is for fans of historical fiction, PBS's Downton Abbey, and the recent royal wedding.
(Fiction/Historical)

The Last Romantics
by Tara Conklin

A fresh look at family dynamics, this is the moving story of four siblings and their love for one another spanning their entire lives. This story pierces the heart and lingers in the mind, it is also a beautiful meditation on the power of stories—how they navigate us through difficult times, help us understand the past, and point the way toward our future.
For fans of The Nest by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeny and The Past by Tessa Hadley.
(Fiction)

The Priory of the Orange Tree
by Samantha Shannon

Brilliant world building; multi-dimensional characters; magic; friendship; plots; secrets; romance; and battles between good and evil.... this book has it all. Labelled as the best new fantasy in years, this extraordinary saga includes heroism, romance, friendship, pirates, plague, diplomacy, and, of course, dragons. 

Fans of Naomi Novak will enjoy!

(Ficiton/Fantasy)
All You Need is Love...and BOOKS

Sweeten up your Valentine's/Galentine's Day with a little romance!

Next time you're in the library stop by our romance book display and get swept away on the wings on love via the pages of a great story.
NEW! Library Book Chat
Wednesday, February 27 at 7 p.m.

Break out of that cabin fever and come talk books with us! Come share what you’ve been reading lately and hear about what others are reading as well. Library staff will be on hand to share recent favorite reads and discuss what’s hot this month in books, trends, and new releases.