41 South Main Street
Hardwick, VT 05843
802-472-5533
galaxybookshop.com

Hours:
M-F, 10-6
Sat, 10-5
Sun, 11-4

There's nothing like a Vermont winter to inspire a person to dive into a good book - or a stack of them! We hope you're finding plenty of time for reading, and we'd love to swap book recommendations the next time you stop by.

With due respect for the weather, our event schedule slows down this time of year, but we still have a couple of fun author visits planned for February and are working on an exciting calendar of events for the spring and summer ahead. Read on to find out why you should come to The Galaxy Bookshop this month!
Breakfast Book Club
Thursday, February 7th,
8:30 a.m.
The Breakfast Book Club will meet at the bookstore to discuss Scribe, by Alyson Hagy – a novel described as a “haunting, evocative tale about the power of storytelling.”

BYOB (bring your own breakfast) – tea is available – and pull up a chair to join us for a lively discussion! New members are always welcome.

Book club members receive 20% off club selections!
Make Time for Romance:
Meet Our New Romance Section!
with special guest Anne Stuart (a.k.a. Krissie Ohlrogge)
Tuesday, February 12th, 7 p.m.
The Galaxy Bookshop is excited to announce the addition of a dedicated Romance section to our Fiction offerings! With Valentine's Day right around the corner, (but really, anytime) we encourage you to indulge in a romantic escape - whether you enjoy historicals, paranormals, contemporary, or any of dozens of other subgenres, we can help you find what you're looking for.

Join us on February 12th for a conversation about the Romance genre with one of the grandmasters - Anne Stuart has been publishing for over forty years and has won every major award in the field of Romance writing.
There will be snacks and giveaways for everyone who attends!
STORYTIME with David Martin
Monday, February 25th, 10 a.m.
at Jeudevine Library
Join Lyndonville author David Martin at the Jeudevine Library for a fun February Break storytime, celebrating snowy play and his new book, Peep and Ducky: It's Snowing!

David will read his book and engage children with songs and movement. This is an especially good story for pre-schoolers!

Books will be available for purchase, and The Galaxy Bookshop will donate 20% of our sales to the Jeudevine Library.
February's Staff Picks
Bowlaway by Elizabeth McCracken
This is one of those rare books that has a little of everything and something for everyone. In the early 1900s in Massachusetts, Bertha Truitt seemingly drops out of the sky into the cemetery with nothing but bag full of gold and bowling pin. What follows is beautifully written story of a community, a family and candlepin bowling! I actually started a book of beautiful phrases and words while reading this. It is truly gorgeous!
The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls by Anissa Gray
This is a heartbreaking story of three sisters who grew up black in rural, white America. When one of the sisters ends up in prison after a crime that shocked the whole town, the other two are left to pick up the pieces by confronting the reality of their own family history and jumping in to raise two teenage girls basically orphaned. This is a story about family, trauma and redemption but mostly about sisterly relationships in all of their beauty and complexity.
99 Percent Mine by Sally Thorne
A fun and sexy contemporary romance from the author of the wildly popular The Hating Game. Thorne's novels will appeal to readers of Helen Fielding and Jane Green.
New Kid , by Jerry Craft
A terrific graphic novel for readers aged 9-12. Based on the author's childhood experiences as a burgeoning artist who didn't feel like he fit in with the kids in his prestigious private school.
Right as Rain , by Lindsey Stoddard
The second middle grade novel from Vermont author Stoddard is a story of grief and change and how to live through both of these inevitable life experiences.
Narwhal's Otter Friend, by Ben Clanton
Narwhal and Jelly tackle the feelings that come up when your best friend makes a new friend. We love this sweet graphic novel series for younger readers!