Volume 380                                                                                                                     November 4, 2015 
File 25
News of the NYS Sheriffs' Association
Election Recap - Updated

The following is an updated version of our election recap that was sent out earlier, adding the closely contested Cortland County race where Mark Helms leads by 277 votes; Herb Barnhart has not conceded.

The Office of Sheriff was on the ballot in 16 counties yesterday. In 11 counties, the incumbents prevailed. In five counties, where the sitting Sheriff chose not to run, races for a new Sheriffs took place.   
Races with no Incumbent  
In Cortland County, where  Sheriff Lee Price  decided not to seek a 5th term, a hotly contested three-way race included Cortland Undersheriff Herb Barnhart on the Republican and Reform party lines, retired State Trooper Rich Berry on the Conservative line, and Village of Homer Police Chief and 25-year Cortland Sheriff's Office veteran Mark Helms on the Democratic and Integrity party lines. In a tight race, Mark Helms (pictured right) leads by 277 votes. With 673 absentee ballots uncounted, Herb Barnhart has not conceded.
In Fulton County, where  Sheriff Thomas Lorey  decided not to seek a 6th term, former Fulton County District Attorney and former Fulton County Judge Richard Giardino, who stepped down from the bench to run for Fulton County Sheriff, appeared on the ballot on the Republican and Conservative lines. He was opposed by Darren Smith, a state court officer and town councilman from Bleecker, NY who appeared on the ballot on the Sportsman line after a failed primary bid for the Republican line.  Richard Giardino was the winner by a large margin.  
In Orleans County, where  Sheriff Scott Hess  decided not to seek a 4th term, a spirited three-way race included retired Medina police officer Donald Organisciak Jr. on the Democratic line, Sheriff’s Office public safety dispatcher Randall Bower on the Republican and Conservative lines, and Orleans County Sheriff’s Office Chief Deputy Thomas Drennan, on the Independence and Reform lines.  The winner in this closely fought race is  Randall Bower.
In Rensselaer County, Sheriff Jack Mahar chose not to run for a 4th term. In September Undersheriff Pat Russo handily beat back a strong primary challenge for the Republican line by former Sheriff’s Correction Officer Scott Ryan. Pat Russo prevailed and appeared on yesterday’s ballot unopposed, thus winning election to his first term as Rensselaer County Sheriff. 
In Seneca County,  Sheriff Jack Stenberg  chose not to run for a 4th term. W. Timothy Luce, a retired Sergeant with the Waterloo Police Department, appeared on the ballot on the Republican line unopposed and won election to a first term as Seneca County Sheriff. Luce, who began his law enforcement career with the Seneca County Sheriff’s Office and has gone back to assist with projects there on a part-time basis since his retirement, has stated plans to appoint Chief Deputy John Cleere as his Undersheriff. John is he son of retired Seneca County Sheriff Tom Cleere.
Incumbent Races

In four counties, incumbent Sheriffs fought in contested races for re-election. In Herkimer, Lewis, Rockland and Warren counties, we are happy to report that all four incumbents prevailed:
Herkimer County Sheriff Chris Farber
who was re-elected to a 4th term, defeating Democrat Timothy Klock and Conservative Party candidate Daniel Reardon who served previously as Herkimer County Sheriff from 1985 to 1995. Sheriff Farber had earlier faced former Sheriff Reardon, and another, in a hotly contested Republican primary challenge in Septemberwhich Sheriff Farber easily won.
Lewis County Sheriff Michael Carpinelli
was re-elected to a 2nd term, defeating long-time Sheriff’s Deputy Todd Galarneau, who ran as an independent under the “Leading the Way” party name.
Rockland County Sheriff Louis Falco III was re-elected to a 2nd term, defeating Woodbury Police Chief Richard Vasquez, who was also a 20-year veteran of the NY City Police Department. Vasquez was recently suspended from his position as police chief reportedly because he was spending too much time campaigning against Sheriff Lou. 
Warren County Sheriff Bud York
was re-elected to a 3rd term, easily defeating former Warren County Sheriff Larry Cleveland, who ran an aggressive campaign on line against Sheriff York on the Democratic and Working Families party lines. It was Cleveland who Sheriff York defeated in 2007 to become sheriff.  
Unopposed Incumbents
Seven Sheriffs appeared on the ballot unopposed and won re-election:  
Broome County Undersheriff Akshar Elected to NYS Senate

Republican Fred Akshar won New York State’s 52nd district senate seat in a landslide victory in yesterday's special election. The Broome County Undersheriff, who was the likely successor to Sheriff Harder (if he were ever to retire!) decided to run for NYS Senate after Republican former Sen. Tom Libous, a longtime incumbent, was forced from office in July when he was convicted on a felony count of lying to the FBI. Fred Akshar received a challenge from Democratic candidate, former Commissioner of Motor Vehicles and former Broome County Executive Barbara Fiala. Governor Cuomo endorsed Fiala the day after the Libous guilty verdict. Senator Akshar took more than three-quarters of the vote, easily defeating Fiala. Since this was a special election, Fred must run again in next year’s regular election. Congratulations on a well-deserved win!

Thanks to our Diamond Partners:
 New York State Sheriffs' Association | 518-434-9091 | www.nysheriffs.org