Borrow ebooks and eaudiobooks through Libby.

Find out how to use the collection online.
LIBRARY PROGRAMS
Thursday, August 27th, 7:00 p.m.

Please join us on Zoom to discuss this month's Virtual Fiction Book Club selection, Call Your Daughter Home by Deb Spera. This title is available in eAudio format from Hoopla using your Wauconda Area Library card.
Registration Required
Tuesday, September 1, 2:00 p.m.

Get the whole family together because all ages will have fun at the park with stories, music, and some dancing.

Meeting at Converse Park
628 E State Rd, Island Lake, IL 60042
Weather permitting

Registration Required
Please register for only one storytime per week. Repeated Tuesday & Thursday.

Masks and social distancing are required for anyone aged 2 and over for the safety and enjoyment of everyone.
READING RECOMMENDATIONS
by Shilpi Somaya Gowda

Submitted by Cabrina L.
Loved this book!! It started with a happy family of four and tragically the youngest child died. It is about how this one horrific incident tore the family apart and how it affected all of them. It was very, very sad.
I liked how it was told through all four of their points of view, including the dead little boy. It was beautifully written.
by James Nestor

Submitted by Kelly K.
An interesting read all about breathing, how to breathe better, how breathing correctly can help heal our bodies. Yoga practitioners and meditation experts have long-held beliefs about using breathing techniques to calm and center our nervous systems – this book touches on this plus much more. The author’s extensive research of the science and history of breathing will make you inhale and exhale insightfully.
by Becky Albertalli

Submitted by Emily D.
Fans of Simon vs. the Homosapien Agenda, the movie Love, Simon, or the new Hulu series Love, Victor are in for a small treat with Albertalli's novella Love, Creekwood. We get a glimpse back into the lives of Simon, Bram, Leah, and Abby as they email each other over the course of their Freshman year at college.
Not overly plot heavy but as a fan of these characters it was nice to see what they were up to again.
by Jan Eldredge

Submitted by Julianne M.
Evangeline is a haunt huntress in training, studying under her grandmother in the Louisiana bayou, always on the prowl for banshees, grims, and other monsters lurking about. Evangeline is impatiently waiting for her familiar to arrive, a sure sign of her huntress status, when her and her grandmother get called to help a mysterious, bedridden client in New Orleans. After her grandmother gets hurt, and her familiar is nowhere to be found, will Evangeline have what it takes to solve the case all on her own? Full of twists and turns, this is the perfect page-turning, supernatural mystery for fans of Small Spaces and City of Bones.
Recommended for Grades 4+
by Patricia McCormick

Submitted by Molly J.
Reckless the horse served in the Korean War and went on to become the only animal ever to officially hold a military rank – becoming Sergeant Reckless. Reckless carries ammunition through the battlefield that soldiers wouldn’t have been able to lift themselves. She was notorious for eating everything in sight even though she was a small and skinny horse. She received two Purple Hearts and retired happily in California. 2020-2021 Bluestem nominee
by Julie Fogliano & Loren Long

Submitted by Regina S.
A beautifully illustrated picture book about the relationships we share. It also makes a great bedtime story, one that you would want to read over and over again.
DATABASE OF THE WEEK

Learn technology, creative, and business skills you can use today. Lynda offers online video tutorials for the web, design, photography, audio and music production, video, 3D animation, and much more. 

Completely FREE with your Wauconda Area Library card.
Follow us on our social media!