July 2020
Greetings CAAHEP Commissioners,

2020 has, and continues to be, an unprecedented year of change, challenges, and innovation. The health and safety of all of our constituents continues to be CAAHEP's primary concern. We have provided COVID-19 information on the CAAHEP website, as well as links to each of the Committees on Accreditation (CoA) websites where programs can get information on how each profession is handling the accreditation process during the pandemic.

The CoAs have worked tirelessly to develop innovative policies and alternate procedures that continue to ensure each program meets CAAHEP Standards during these social distancing times. The CAAHEP Board and staff commend the CoAs for their efforts, and support them as they move forward into the upcoming school term and beyond. There is still much to figure out as we go, but with the practices that the CoAs have put into place, we are confident that the quality of CAAHEP accredited programs will remain.

The CAAHEP Board and staff stand ready to assist the Committees on Accreditation in assuring the CAAHEP Standards are met by every accredited program.
2020 Annual Meeting
While CAAHEP's Annual Meeting looked a little different than before, the online program on April 20 was well received and provided numerous presentations from multiple speakers. We appreciate the contributions of keynote speaker Dr. Judith Eaton, President of the Council for Higher Education Accreditation; Dr. David Markenson, the National Medical Director for the American Red Cross; and Jay Vaughan and Vince Sampson, from Cooley LLP.

The Business Meeting of Commissioners brought a new Sponsoring Organization into CAAHEP and we welcome the American Red Cross, which will be sponsoring the Anesthesia Technology and Exercise Sciences CoAs. The Commissioners also approved changes to the CAAHEP Bylaws and reduction of the number of seats on the CAAHEP Board. President Glen Mayhew and Executive Director Kathleen Megivern provided activity reports, and Kate Feinstein, Treasurer, shared the financial report of the organization.

The 2020 Annual Meeting book remains available on the CAAHEP website should Commissioners unable to attend care to review the material.
2020-2021 CAAHEP Board of Directors
July 1st welcomed the beginning of a new fiscal year for CAAHEP and with that a new makeup of the Board of Directors. Elections were held at the May Board meeting and the following members were elected to officer positions

  • Glen Mayhew, President
  • Stacey Ocander, Vice President
  • Catherine Carter, Treasurer
  • Katheryn (Katie) Kuntz, Secretary

Board members are Donald A. Balasa, Glenda Carter, Barry Eckert, Greg Frazer, Fred Lenhoff, Don Martin, Keith Orloff, Catherine (Cathie) Rienzo, and Jennifer Spegal. The time these volunteers put in to leading CAAHEP is immeasurable. We thank them for all of their efforts.

We also wish to recognize with appreciation two Board members whose terms expired June 30th. Thank you to Kate Feinstein and Doug York for their years of support and dedication to CAAHEP. Both will remain active on committees and as liaisons.
Commissioner News
Welcome to CAAHEP's newest Sponsoring Organization, the American Red Cross, and its Commissioner David Markenson. Thank you for your support.

Welcome, as well, to Kevin M. Sloss, Recent Graduate Commissioner.
Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs
25400 US Highway 19 North, Suite 158, Clearwater, FL 33763
P:727-210-2350 F:727-210-2354 E:
Website    About     Accreditation     News & Events     Contact