MAY 30, 2013 

FORWARD STRIDE BLAST

FORWARD STRIDE'S SEARCH FOR A NEW HOME

 

As most of you know, Forward Stride's land and facilities are slated for residential development within 3-5 years. This is something we have expected since we first leased this property in 2007. Last summer, in anticipation of starting a search for a new home, we surveyed our clients, volunteers, and staff (highlights of survey results are included toward the bottom of this email*).

 

This summer we'll be looking closely at various properties to determine whether they work as potential sites for our new facility. While we view our present facility as an approximate model for a future site, we know we'll need to approach relocation with flexibility and creativity.

 

We'll also know that we'll need to redouble our efforts to expand our base of support in preparation for a future capital campaign. If you're interested and able to help with these fundraising and development efforts, please contact Bill Mitchell at bill@forwardstride.org.

 

WHAT'S HAPPENING WITH THE TREES?
Cherry in Bloom
 
Clients and volunteers have been asking about the tree removal that has begun on property that Forward Stride leases. Our landlords, the Metropolitan Land Group, are doing this as part of their plan for future development of the property. We have been assured that this is not happening because of an imminent change in our status as a tenant.
 
We are working with the Metropolitan Land Group to retain trees whose removal would greatly diminish our ability to use the site, care for our horses, and serve our clients. We are also in communication with our landlord to minimize disruptions of our programming and to ensure the safety of our clients, volunteers, and horses.
 
 
NEW FORWARD STRIDE WEBSITE
Check out Forward Stride's new website at www.forwardstride.org. Our thanks to LeftBrainRightBrain Marketing, Drew Zagorski, Mallory Miller, and Mary Galvin for their efforts in making this happen.
MEMORIAL GATHERING FOR BLESI

Blesi

Blesi's memorial gathering is Sunday, June 9th, 9:00 a.m. at Forward Stride. All are welcome. Blesi was a 33-year-old Icelandic pony with a heart of gold. He was Forward Stride's "Horse of the Year" in 2012. 

* SUMMARY OF JULY 2012 SURVEY RESULTS
Here's a brief summary of our July 2012 survey of 225 clients, volunteers, and staff.

 

1) Where do you live?

Each green pin on the map below represents a zipcode where one or more Forward Stride clients, volunteers, or staffers reside.

Zip Map   
   Q2

  

Q3  

Q4  

Q5Note: Most of the above are hypothetical sites, employed here to get a sense of what would be accessible to our clients, volunteers, and staff.

STAFF CONTACT INFO

Candi Cornils, Volunteer Coordinator (AmeriCorps), 503-590-2959, candi.cornils@forwardstride.org
Nicole D'Auray, Instructor, 503-539-8690, nicole.dauray@forwardstride.org
Amanda Garrison, Volunteer Program Coordinator, 503-590-2959, amanda.garrison@forwardstride.org
Amber Henneck Varner, Program Coordinator, 503-537-4201, amber.varner@forwardstride.org
Alan Horowitz, Speech Therapist, 503-329-3208, alan.horowitz@forwardstride.org
Eve Irish, Occupational Therapy Assistant, eve.irish@forwardstride.org
Mary Ann Kappa, Instructor, 503-708-1537, maryann.kappa@forwardstride.org
Michelle Kappa, Instructor, 503-656-0671, michelle.kappa@forwardstride.org
Ellen Mast, Instructor, 503-819-6242, ellen.mast@forwardstride.org
Kris McCarthy, Instructor, 503-645-1233, kris.mccarthy@forwardstride.org
Bill Mitchell, Executive Director, 503-590-2959, bill@forwardstride.org  
Pati Nelson, Program Coordinator, 503-348-4398, patricia.nelson@forwardstride.org
Eryn Ross, Business Coordinator, 503-590-2959, eryn.ross@forwardstride.org
Valery Sampson, Occupational Therapist, 503-628-3719, valery.sampson@forwardstride.org
Laurie Schick, Hippotherapy Coordinator/Physical Therapist, 503-757-8957, laurie.schick@forwardstride.org 

PATH LOGO

Premier Accredited