Joyful Judaism! 
Weekly E-Newsletter 
October 7-14, 2021
Pleasantville Community Synagogue 
219 Bedford Road, Pleasantville, NY  
Pleasantville Community Synagogue is a welcoming Jewish community with
people of diverse traditions and backgrounds who want to share a
joyous spiritual and cultural home.
SHABBAT SERVICES

THIS Friday night,
October 8 at 6:30 pm!
Come to PCS to celebrate Rabbi Shosh's first Kabbalat Shabbat service at PCS!
Her husband, Rabbi Ben Newman will be providing musical accompaniment.

All are welcome to attend Friday night service via Zoom.
Click here for the link.
Meeting ID: 899 9136 8235
Passcode: 295510
One tap mobile: +16465588656,,89991368235#,,,,*295510# US (NY)
~~~
Saturday morning, 10 am
Lay-led in-person* services with Michael Safranek
followed by Torah study.
~~~
In order to attend in-person services, everyone 12 years and older must be fully vaccinated. If you did not already provide PCS with proof of vaccination for the High Holidays, you are must send in proof of vaccination prior to the service by emailing Marcy Gray, mgray@shalompcs.com.

Masks will be required at all times, regardless of vaccination status.

If you are feeling unwell or have been in close contact with anyone currently diagnosed with COVID-19 in the past 10 days, please join us at the service
via Zoom.
Schedule of Shabbat Services
October 2021 to June 2022
with Rabbi Shosh*
(other services will be lay-led or
led by visiting clergy)

Friday evening Kabbalat Shabbat
October 8 (this Friday) and 22 
November 5 and 19 
December 10 and 17 
January 14 and 28 
February 11 and 18 
March 4 and 18 
April 22 and 29 
May 13 and 20
June 3 and 17 or 24 (TBD)

Shabbat morning
October 23 (Bat Mitzvah of Eve Rutman)
November 13 and 20
December 4 and 18
January 8 and 22
February 5 and 12
March 19 and 26 (Bar Mitzvah of Jonah Aghen), 2022
April 2 (Bar Mitzvah of Trevor Galin) and 23, 2022
May 7, 2022
June 18 and TBD, 2022

Until further notice, protocols include that attendees must be vaccinated with proof of vaccination sent in advance to mgray@shalompcs.com, masks will be worn inside during services, windows will be open, and participants will observe social distancing.

*Check PCS' website calendar, http://www.shalompcs.com/calendar1.html,
for any changes to the schedule.
Interested in spending grant money to help PCS with outreach: social media, marketing, community involvement?
Maybe you spoke about this with Rabbi Shosh or Rabbi Ben at last Saturday's lovely kiddush? Whether you did or not, please let us know if you're interested! Contact Marcy Gray or Michelle Falkenstein.
Hebrew School with Rabbi Shosh!

For an incredibly important cause:
Volunteers - 12 and older - needed to help pack supplies for Afghan refugees

Monday, October 11 and Tuesday, October 12 at the JCC of mid-Westchester in Scarsdale or the Shames JCC on the Hudson in Tarrytown.

Click here for more information and to sign up to help pack up supplies at one of the JCCs.

See flyer below for items needed for donation.
The WJCS COVID Relief Hub, a UJA-Federation of NY initiative, is here to assist Westchester residents with critical needs resulting from the pandemic. Career and job search support, financial counseling, individual and group mental health support, kosher home-delivered meals to homebound seniors and assistance with food insecurity are offered free
of charge.

Click below for October Career Services Support:
Click below for October Mental Health Support:

Meet the COVID-19 Relief Hub Team:
Sherry Birnbaum, LCSW, Assistant Executive Director, Jewish Programs Division; sbirnbaum@wjcs.com (914) 761-0600 x2140
 
Lisa Morris, Program Coordinator, Career Specialist; lmorris@wjcs.com 
(914) 761-0600 x2150
 
Ellen Weisberg, Program Coordinator, Mental Health Services; eweisberg@wjcs.com (914) 761-0600 x2146
 
Jennifer Schmelkin, LCSW, Social Worker; jschmelkin@wjcs.com
 
Jill Schreibman, LCSW, Social Worker; jschreibman@wjcs.com
(914) 761-0600 x2170
 
Naomi Koller, MBA, Career Specialist; nkoller@wjcs.com
 
Michael Weiss, MBA, Career Specialist; mweiss@wjcs.com
 
Sylvia Davi, Administrative Assistant; sdavi@wjcs.com
(914) 761-0600 x2124
 
If you have a financial, emotional or employment concerns, please contact Lisa at 914.761.0600 X2150 or lmorris@wjcs.com.
 
If you would like to speak with a mental health professional, please contact Ellen Weisberg, M.Ed, LMSW at eweisberg@wjcs.com.
Storage space needed for
PCS' portable ark asap!
Do you have garage space, basement space, corner of a spare room?
Looking to volunteer? 
Click here for Volunteer
NY Virtual Volunteer page. 
The PCS office is open Tuesday to Friday, 10-3.
Messages are checked frequently so please leave a message for
Rabbi Shosh Leis, rabbi@shalompcs.com; Educational Director Galit Messman, pcshebrewschool@gmail.com or
Administrator Marcy Gray at 914-769-2672