Photography by current student Grace S.
It's the SCOOP for January 2, 2020
Your weekly news from Santa Barbara Middle School
IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENTS
OPEN HOUSE #2
Mark your calendars for our final  OPEN HOUSE  for this Admission season —  Saturday, January 11, 2020 (3-5pm)  — it's the first Saturday after we return from Winter Break. Help us spread the word by sharing our school and your unique experience with friends, new and old, over the holiday season! 

FINANCIAL AID APPLICATIONS DUE FOR RETURNING FAMILIES
Financial Aid applications are due on January 17, 2020, for returning families. Note that complete applications are essential in order to be considered for financial aid for the 2020-21 school year. Please click here to find the necessary information and documents about Financial Aid at SBMS.

6TH GRADE HIKE
Reminder to 6th grade families that we are going for a hike at Inspiration Point the first Friday back at school, January 10, 2020 , and pick up will be at 5pm. Reminder that students must wear hiking boots and should pack water and snacks. Thanks! 
THE WEEK AHEAD

Monday, Dec. 23 - Friday, Jan. 3
Winter Break!

Monday, Jan. 6: Classes Resume! There will be Diamond Time this morning.

Friday, Jan. 10
6:45am Sunrise Swim

Saturday, Jan. 11:
3pm-5pm Open House #2
ATHLETIC SCHEDULE

 Tuesday, January 7, 3:45pm
  • Girls Soccer vs. Crane @ Crane

Thursday, January 9, 3:45pm
  • Girls Soccer vs. Laguna @ Laguna

  • Boys JV Basketball vs. Crane @ Crane

  • Boys Varsity Basketball vs. Providence @ SBMS
SUNRISE SWIM REMINDER
Come join us at 6:45am for our first sunrise swim of 2020 on January 10. Please consider donating coffee and donuts for an early morning pick-me-up.
FROM THE PARENT ASSOCIATION

PA MEETINGS
Our next meeting will be January 14 at 8:30am . David Mochel will be talking to us about Teen Growth and Risk Taking.  Click here to see the video from our December meeting.
 
PARKING LOT COFFEE
Next parking lot coffee will be Thursday, January 23 at 8:30am . Stop by for a cup of coffee and some morning treats and socialize with other Middle School parents. Bring your own mug to help keep us green. 
ON THE HORIZON
Tuesday, Jan. 14: PA Meeting, 8:30am in Lotus
Wednesday, Jan 16: 8:30am Book Club in the Library
Friday, Jan. 17: Financial Aid applications due for returning families
Friday, Jan. 17: Semester Ends
Monday, Jan. 20: Martin Luther King Jr. Day - No School!
Thursday, Jan. 23: PA Parking Lot Coffee
Monday, Feb. 10: 7pm, 9th Grade Shakespeare Event
Tuesday, Feb. 11: 6:30pm 6/7th Grade Academic Fair
Thursday, Feb. 13 - Monday, Feb. 17: President's Holiday Weekend
Monday, March 16 - Friday, March 20: March Expeditions
Monday, March 23 - Friday, April 3: Spring Break
Monday, April 6: Classes Resume!
Saturday, April 25: Songfest
CONTACT US
school calendar | website | 805-682-2989 | email | HUB login
FOLLOW US