MAY 2018
Open Payments is a federal program, required by the Affordable Care Act, that collects information about the payments drug and device companies make to physicians and teaching hospitals for things like travel, research, gifts, speaking fees, and meals. It also includes ownership interests that physicians or their immediate family members have in these companies. This data is then made available to the public each year on this website.
Ransomware exposes records of 85,000 Center for Orthopaedic Specialists patients
California's Center for Orthopaedic Specialists (COS) last week disclosed that its three facilities were affected by a ransomware attack on a third-party system that allowed adversaries to access patient data and encrypt it for the purposes of extortion. Read more

Source: SC Media
DPH reminding prescribers about July 1 PDMP requirement

MAG is working with DPH to remind physicians about the July 1 st effective date of the mandate to consult the Prescription Drug Monitoring Program prior to writing a prescription for certain controlled substances.  Click the news articles below which includes video tutorials on the database.  Click here to view article

Membership Updates
The GAOE would like to extend our congratulations to Patricia L. “Patty” Brewster, MHA, FACMPE for winning the AAOE Lifetime Achievement Award.

All GAOE members have access to the online community platform, Collaborate, to discuss various orthopaedic practice management topics. ​Collaborate provides helpful member-to-member communication on an updated platform with enhanced features.

​You will need your AAOE username and password or the one that has been emailed to you by the AAOE. If you would like additional help, please contact AAOE member services at 1-800-247-9699 or .

Just getting started with Collaborate?
2018 GAOE Annual Meeting
November 4 - 6, 2018
Omni Amelia Island
Plantation Resort
39 Beach Lagoon Road
Amelia Island, Florida 32034

GAOE Board of Directors
Jeff Goldberg

Reagan Owens
Vice President

Sharon Bromley
Treasurer and Finance Chair

Paula Orr
Communications Chair

Wanda Power
Membership Chair
Board Members at Large

Breanna Smith

Cindy Mitchell

Kitchi Joyce

Cheryl Boyles

Kendra Streat