Welcome to Summer at GPL!
Letter to the Community
Celebrate the unofficial holiday of Summer Reading with Greenburgh Public Library! With warm weather, longer days, and (hopefully) a weekend getaway or two, readers can rely on immersing themselves in some of the many newly published books this season, as well as great programming for AdultsTeens, and Children. This year, we kick off Summer Reading on Thursday, June 23, with Oceans of Possibilities for kids because as much as they need summer games and activities, they also need books and reading to keep their minds as fit as their bodies. 

Just like presents for the holidays, books wrapped in colorful art give the reader a sense of anticipation of what's inside, but sometimes readers need a little help selecting the right materials. Browse the June issue of BookPage for a comprehensive guide to the BEST new summer reads or the BEST book bloggers for candid reviews that can help you decide your must-reads for the season. 

Physical books may be your preference; however, with your GPL card, you can access the many eBooks and audiobooks available digitally through HooplaLibby, and  CloudLibrary from anywhere in the world. Readers have so many choices available at their fingertips and with eBooks, you can take stacks of books with you anywhere. 

Your GPL card also gets you access to stellar virtual resources. Look for fun, seasonal activities from CreativeBug; self-paced classes and learning activities from Linkedin Learning and Tech Talk; movies, documentaries, and recorded concerts from Kanopy and Medici.tv; and financial information from The Weiss Ratings Database (see below for more information).

Whether you plan to travel or stay home, the Library will compliment your summer schedule with great books to read and programming!

Seasons Readings!
Christina Ryan-Linder
Library Director
Summer Reading Programs at GPL!
GPL's Summer Reading Program will run from June 23 to August 12 and includes many opportunities for children, teens, and adults to explore our programming and resources. There will be opportunities to earn prizes and contribute to our local food bank, The Caring Cupboard Food Pantry at the Greenburgh Health Center, an initiative led by the youths in our community to address food insecurity. Read books, ebooks, graphic novels, magazines, or audiobooks - all formats count!
El programa de lectura de verano se llevará a cabo del 23 de junio al 12 de agosto e incluye muchas oportunidades para que niños, adolescentes y adultos exploren nuestros programas y recursos. Habrá oportunidades para ganar premios y contribuir a nuestro banco de alimentos local, The Caring Cupboard Food Pantry en el Greenburgh Health Center, una iniciativa dirigida por los jóvenes de nuestra comunidad para abordar la inseguridad alimentaria. Lea libros, libros electrónicos, novelas gráficas, revistas o audiolibros: ¡todos los formatos cuentan! Se requiere registro.
Visite greenburghlibrary.org/SRP/lalecturadeverano para obtener más detalles
Summer Reading Program for Children
Birth to Children Entering Grade 5
June 23, 2022
5:30 -7:30 pm
Music, bubbles, and treats outside at the Library's Circle. Registration required.
How It Works: Read & Complete Challenges to help combat food insecurity In OUR Community!
  1. SIGN UP - Register to participate in the Summer Reading Community Project in person or online.
  2. GET A BINGO CARD - Available when you register for the Summer Reading Project. Hand in your BINGO Card at GPL by Friday, August 12, 2022. All formats count - books, magazines, audiobooks, graphic novels!
  3. EARN - For every BINGO row you complete on your Summer BINGO Card you earn one non-perishable food item to be donated to Caring Cupboard Food Pantry and one chance to win the grand prize

Teen Summer Reading Challenge
Teens Entering Grades 6 - 12
How It Works: Register for the Summer Reading Challenge and complete BINGO Card reading challenges.

For every BINGO row you complete on your Summer Reading BINGO Card:
  1. One non-perishable food item is donated to Caring Cupboard Food Pantry
  2. You get a chance to win the grand prize
  3. Earn 1 hour of community service

READ - Books, graphic novels, magazines, audiobooks, school books–whatever you like!

What if I want to do more to help my community?
Donations of non-perishable food items will be accepted at Greenburgh Public Library in July & August 2022. Look for a donation station in the Library's lobby.


Adult Summer Reading Challenge
How It Works:
  • Read in any format you want–books, ebooks, graphic novels, magazines, or audiobooks during June, July, & August 2022.
  • Share What You Read: Submit a "2022 Adult Summer Reading Challenge" form for each title completed. Forms are also available at the Information Desk.
  • Earn a chance at winning prizes: Finish a minimum of five books to be automatically entered in a drawing to win prizes. Everyone who completes five books and the 2022 Adult Summer Reading Challenge form receives a coupon for a free book from the Friends bookstore.
  • Not sure what to read? Check out our What to Read Guide.
Visit GreenburghLibrary.org/what_to_read for more details
New Services and Resources
FDR Presidential Library & Museum



GPL now has passes to the FDR Presidential Library & Museum. Patrons can reserve a pass through Tixkeeper on any day they wish to visit.

Patrons can pick up the pass from the Information Desk during Library operating hours but they do not have to be returned.

These passes do not allow admission into FDR's home or other Roosevelt sites. Patrons who wish to do those activities will have to purchase tickets at the Visitor Center.
Reservable Study Room
Study rooms are now available for reservations! The rooms can be booked for a maximum of two (2) hours, reserved in one (1) hour increments, and can be used to work, study or conduct video conferences for non-commercial purposes. Reservations can only be made one week in advance and are available:

Friday 10 am - 12 pm
Saturday 10 am - 4 pm
Roku Streaming Devices
The Library recently added 3 Roku Streaming Devices to our Library of Things for Greenburgh patrons 18 and over. Patrons can borrow the devices for a two-week loan period with no renewals. The Rokus have subscriptions to Apple TV and Peacock Premium in addition to a number of other applications. To learn more about borrowing a Roku Streaming Stick click here or call the Information Desk to place a hold (914) 721-8225.
The Weiss Ratings Database provides reliable data, balanced coverage, and a broad scope of easy-to-use financial products for new and seasoned investors. Find ratings for stocks, bonds, mutual funds, banks, credit unions, insurers, and consumer guides on prescription drug plans, health savings accounts, eldercare options, managing debt, and starting a retirement savings plan.

Users can personalize their accounts, saving and organizing the financial products they wish to monitor as well as sign up to receive emails with updates to the data and any rating changes that come.

Insured by Medicare and looking for supplemental health insurance? The Weiss Ratings Database can customize highly detailed individual planners based on a user’s age, gender, and geographic location (zip code).
Guild and Friends Update
The Greenburgh Public Library Guild's Renaissance Gala was a huge success with more than 150 attendees! 
Learn more about the Guild here: greenburghlibraryguild.org/

Meanwhile, the Friends of the Greenburgh Public Library's Spring Mini-Sale exceeded expectations!
Learn more about the Friends here: friendsofthegreenburghlibrary.org/

Thank you to our Guild members, Friends, community vendors, DPW and Library staff, who helped out before, during, and after these well-attended and successful events.
Over the last two years, we have recorded much of our virtual programming for our Vimeo channel. Watch opera talks and jazz conversations, AAUW presentations, community discussions on racism and discrimination, Qi Gong, health presentations, nature programming, and much more! Vimeo is constantly updated, so please check out what's currently available and/or subscribe to our channel.
by Alice Feeney
Fans of Ruth Ware, Lisa Jewell
-Amelia, Adult Services
by Jessie Mihalik
This is the first book by this author that I have read and I recommend it for a little light sci-fi summer reading. Full of adventure and mystery with a little romance for an extra level of intrigue and Luna the Burbu, a furry, purry telepathic.
-Kathy, Administration
by Nghi Vo
Explore the sinister and supernatural dark side of Old Hollywood with Luli Wei, a beautiful, talented actress who's desperate enough to play anything but a maid even when it means playing the monster.
-Nicole, Adult Services
by Sarah Perry
A beautiful novel set during the Victorian Age. Cora Seaborne, widow and naturalist, follows tales of the Essex Serpent to Aldwinter and is forever changed by the people and adventures she finds there. Readers will be mesmerized.
-Emily, Youth Services
by T. Kingfisher
It's a dark feminist fairy tale, that's somehow also funny.
Laura, Circulation

Everyone needs to read this book. The author weaves a wonderful story, touchingly simple yet incredibly wise at the same time. A poignant and heartbreaking retelling of princesses and prince "charming" that had me alternating between tears and laughing out loud. Truly a must-read for all, not only fantasy fans.
-Kathy, Administration

by Christopher Moore
Sarcastic and funny 40's style detective story. Fans of film noir will love it!
-Kathy, Administration
by Holly Black
This is a dark tale with monsters and demons but Holly Black is a wonderful world builder and storyteller so readers should not be put off if they do not enjoy fantasy.
-Christina, Director
The Hunger of the Gods by John Gwynne
I do follow this author and this is #2 in his new trilogy "The Bloodsworn". For fans of Norse mythology and epic fantasy
-Kathy, Administration
Come See Us!
Summer hours
Masks are encouraged, but not required. Curbside pickup remains available throughout the day; please refer to our Curbside Pickup Instructions.
This newsletter is made possible through the valuable contributions of the entire library staff. Editorial and layout contributions by Nicole Guenkel
June 2022