Each week ACCG shares photos highlighting activities from counties
around the state and the ACCG team at work. Email your photos to [email protected].

Carroll County E-911 Provides

On-the-Ground Assistance

in the Wake of Hurricane Ian

Carroll County E-911 Telecommunicators Felicia Rowland and Amber Waid assisted in the 911 Center in Lee County, Florida where Hurriane Ian recently made landfall.  Carroll County is part of the Telecommunicator Emergency Response (TERT) Program, which is a nationally recognized program for mutal aid response in the aftermath of disasters.  These Carroll County employees served in Florida for 14 days.

ARPA Dollars at Work

The Haralson County Board of Commissioners recently purchased five new 2022 Ford Explorers for the Sheriff's Office using American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) funds.  Pictured from left to right:  Chief Deputy Jamison Sailors, Chairman Ronnie RIdley and Sheriff Stacy Williams.

GMA Announces Hiring of New

Director of Government Relations

The Georgia Municipal Associaiton (GMA) has announced the hiring of Jim Thornton as Director of Government Relations.  In this position, he will lead GMA's legislative team and its efforts to support all of Georgia's 537 member counties.  Thornton has practiced law for 25 years, previously served on the City Council of LaGrange for one term, and currently serves as its mayor, a position he has held for the last 9 years.  He recently completed his service as GMA President in June and has served in many other leadership roles for the association as well.

New State Patrol Post Opens in Jeff Davis County

The Georgia Department of Public Safety recently held a ribbon cutting for State Patrol Post 16 located in Jeff Davis County.  Post 16 has eight troopers who serve Appling, Jeff Davis, Montgomery, Telfair and Wheeler counties.  County and city officials participated in the ribbon cutting, along with Colonel Chris Wright, Commissioner of the Department of Public Safety.  

Jasper County Commissioner Attends Retirement Celebration for Representative Susan Holmes

Jaspser County Commissioner Sheila Jones recently attended the retirement celebration for Representative Susan Holmes.  Representative Holmes had served in this position since 2011.  She also is noted as having served as the first female mayor of Monticello, a position she held from 1998 through 2010.

ACCG County Consulting Team

at Work in Butts County

ACCG County Consulting team members Bill Twomey and Mary Beth Brownlee recently facilitated a Joint Board Meeting and Economic Development Workshop in Butts County which included the Butts County Board of Commissioners, the Butts County Board of Tax Assessors, the Butts County Board of Education, the Butts County Industrial Development Authority and their respective staff. 

Last week, Local Lens included a feature on Cobb County's AAA bond rating. While the information noted that Columbia and Gwinnett counties hold this rating, it failed to mention that Forsyth County also has achieved this status. Congratulations to all four counties on this accomplishment!

Tell Us What's Happening in Your County!
ACCG wants to share positive news about events and projects from your county with your peers from across the state. Photos and story ideas submitted to ACCG for Georgia's Local Lens or the Georgia County Spotlight may be used in this e-newsletter or on ACCG's website or social media. Photos and other information used are provided courtesy of our county constituents and ACCG staff. For questions or information, please contact Beth Brown at [email protected].
To submit photos and captions for Georgia's Local Lens, ´╗┐click here.
To submit photos and project information for Georgia County Spotlight, click here.