LIBRARY UPDATES
Book Up: Custom Reading Recommendations

Read everything by your favorite author and looking for something to spark that same joy? Searching for a new book for your neighborhood book club that will switch things up? In need of new chapter books for your young reader?

We can help!

Fill out our online form, call us, or email our team at RAteam@wauclib.org to have us browse the Library for your next great read. We will work with you to find something you can't wait to read!

While you wait to hear from our team, try some books that are getting a lot of buzz this summer from our Must Read 2020 list.
LIBRARY PROGRAMS
(The Library's Un-Book Club)
Thursday, July 2, 7:00 p.m.

Like us, you may be craving conversation about one of our favorite shared topics – BOOKS. We’ll discuss what books we’re enjoying, which books we aren’t, and what we’re reading next. Discover “new to you" books from other readers as well as a rundown of new books hitting the library shelves in July. 
(Storytime)

Enjoy storytimes, crafts, and more on the Library's YouTube channel and find the perfect playlist for any age group on our website.
SUMMER READING RECOMMENDATIONS
by Alex George

Submitted by Terri S.
This spellbinding novel is told throughout the course of a summer day in 1927 in Paris. The novel centers on four characters struggling with loss, loneliness, and secrets long kept. Their stories, told together and combined with iconic personalities of the Gilded Age, which include Gertrude Stein, Josephine Baker, Marcel Proust, Maurice Revel, and Ernest Hemingway are heartbreaking and extraordinary. Alex George is such a great writer. I loved his earlier novel, A Good American and have added Setting Free the Kites (2017), to my “to be read SOON” list. This is fiction worth its weight, fiction that pulls you in by the heart. 
I cannott recommend this author enough. 
The audiobook is beautifully narrated, an utterly enjoyable listen.

Looking for great summer reads?
Find a list of our sure bets online .
by Sungju Lee

Submitted by Kathryn S.
This is an intense, true story of how a 12 year old boy, whose father was a high ranking official in the Korean People’s Army, survived exile and eventually escaped North Korea. Sungju’s parents initially tried to hide the fact that they were exiled and gradually running out money for food. Because they were starving, his parents left in search of work and food. Sungju was forced to fend for himself. He learned how to steal and formed a gang with other boys to try to survive. They hopped trains, learned how to fight, and worked together to try to avoid arrest and possible execution.

Love non-fiction? Find more 2020 non-fiction recommendations online !
by Heather Gudenkauf

Submitted by Cabrina L.
For lovers of dark and twisty stories, here is one I couldn't put down.

25 years ago Maggie was the one who discovered the body of her best friend, Eve. Without enough evidence the case eventually went cold.

Now, in present day, Maggie is a detective. When a new piece of evidence is found connected to Eve's case Maggie won't rest until the case is solved...but not everyone in town wants the truth out.
YOUNG ADULT FICTION
by Kimberly Jones and Gilly Segal

Submitted by Emily D.
Kimberly Jones' co-authored book skyrocketed to the top of my reading list after I saw some of her recent public speaking online.
This book is for fans of Nic Stone, Angie Thomas, and Kekla Magoon.

Lena and Campbell find themselves trapped inside their high school's concession stand as an intense, mob-like riot begins after a football game.
As they try to make their way home safely they learn the school fight is not the only rioting in town.
SUMMER READING RECOMMENDATIONS FOR YOUNGER READERS
AGES BIRTH - PRESCHOOL
by Lewis Carroll,
Illustrations by Carly Gledhill

Submitted by Kelly M.
Never too soon to introduce the classics. You will enjoy this slick, fast paced retelling just as much as your child!  
GRADES K-2
by Lea Lyon

Submitted by Emily D.
Sylvia wasn't allowed to enroll in ballet classes with other girls her age but that didn't stop her from learning! With a little help from her local library she was able to learn, teach, and perform.

Want more K-2 recommendations?
GRADES 3-5
by Aaron Blabey

Submitted by Patty G.
Humorous early chapter books of wannabe good guys on wild adventures. This episode features zombie kittens.
Each book ends with a cliffhanger, so kids will be excited to read the next book.

Want more 3rd-5th recommendations?
GRADES 6-8
by J. A. White

Submitted by Kelly M.
A seriously creepy spin on Arabian Nights with elements of Hansel and Gretel . Trapped in a magical apartment Alex must read one of his scary stories each night to survive.
Only Alex is running out of stories....
SUMMER READING REPORT
Keep Calm and Read On
June 1 - August 1

We've reached 1,000 books!!

With just one month left can double our success?
Keep Summer Reading with us through August 1st!

Prefer a paper log? Let us know!
Follow us on our social media!