Jewelry That Makes You Think.
Join us Wednesday, April 15, 2020, for a free live chat and peek into the studio of AJF Young Artist Award finalist Mallory Weston .


What time?
10 a.m. PST: San Francisco
11 a.m. MST: Denver, Mexico City
12 p.m. CST: San Antonio
1 p.m. EST: Toronto, NYC, Santiago
2 p.m.: Buenos Aires
6 p.m.: London
7 p.m.: Brussels, Paris, South Africa, Oslo
8 p.m.: Bucharest, Athens, Israel, Estonia
12:00 a.m. on April 16: Thailand
2 a.m. on April 16: Korea, Japan
3 a.m. on April 16: Sydney

For more information, and to register, follow this link .
INTERVIEW
23 Years of Both Design and Contemporary Jewelry
by James Tergau

In 1996, Dutch designer Gijs Bakker co-founded Chi ha paura…? (Italian for Who’s afraid of…?), a foundation that aimed to bridge the gap between the world of design and the world of contemporary jewelry. Chp…?, the brand’s name since 2013, started with the launch of a core collection that included both jewelry by renowned industrial designers such as Ron Arad, Marc Newson, and Marcel Wanders, as well as pieces from noted jewelry designers such as Emmy van Leersum, Otto Künzli, and Ted Noten. Starting in 2002, chp…? initiated jewelry collections in collaboration with the Design Museum Den Bosch. Every couple of years, they invited a group of designers to design a piece of jewelry in response to themes such as What’s Luxury?, Global Identity, and Device People. The results were subsequently presented at the Salone del Mobile in Milan. But in late 2019, it was announced that chp…? jewelry would cease to exist by January 31, 2020. Bakker discusses why.

Image caption: HOKO, Index, 2013, photo: Rien Bazen
What are you thinking about? Submit a proposal with your article idea to be considered for publication on AJF. Be a part of the conversation.
Jewelry & Objects
by Art Jewelry Forum

A showcase of unique pieces selected for your viewing pleasure.
News & Ideas
by Art Jewelry Forum

Read the latest news and events from around the world and be informed.
SPECIAL THANKS TO OUR SPONSORS