November

All items for the nature hunt are located at the library. 
Enjoy the outdoors and get some fresh air while you find all of these hidden items. 
Come each week for a new adventure.
ADULT LIBRARY PROGRAMS
November 4, 10:00 am

Join us via Zoom to practice a gentle chair version of Tai Chi with Allison Deputy of Moon Willow Tai Chi. 

Register to receive a link to join the Zoom webinar.
November 5, 7:00 pm

Join us for a fun, lively book chat from the comfort of your own home.  We’ll discuss what books we’re enjoying, which books we aren’t, and what we’re reading next.  Discover “new to you" books from other readers as well as a rundown of new books hitting the library shelves in November.
November 10, 7:00 pm

Parents and caregivers - join us in a Zoom meeting to discuss how you are coping with e-learning. We will share literacy resources for caregivers and students. Have questions? We will try our best to come up with solutions. 
A teacher will join us to help find answers. 
Virtual Book Clubs

The Five by Hallie Rubenhold

The Glass Ocean by Beatriz Williams, Lauren Willig, & Karen White
CHILDREN/FAMILY LIBRARY PROGRAMS
Starting November 9th, ages 2-5

Missing storytime? We can help!
Visit us at the library, check out two books, and receive a surprise storytime kit.
Each kit includes a flannel board story and activity sheet to keep.
New themes and stories each week. 
Registration required
November 4, 11 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.

Register to read with a librarian.
Each child will receive their own 20 minute appointment to read one on one via Zoom. A great way to build confidence and increase fluency.
Sign up each week for a slot, families with multiple readers sign up each reader individually.
November, weather permitting

Enjoy an interactive story on the library lawn. 
We will feature one story and one activity per week that are available from 9 am to dusk.
READING RECOMMENDATIONS
by Fredrik Backman

Submitted by Kathryn S.
“That light we see is burning in my hall. How far that little candle throws his beams. So shines a good deed in a naughty world.” - Shakespeare as found in the book Anxious People

I was looking forward to reading Anxious People because I liked other books written by Backman and it did not disappoint. It’s a mystery. It’s a comedy. There is relationship drama. There is a failed bank robbery and then a hostage situation that turns into a “locked room” mystery.
I enjoyed its twists and turns.
by Dzung Lewis

Submitted by Kelly F.
Check out this beautiful cookbook to get inspired to cook!
The recipes feature fresh, healthy foods with an Asian influence. Try the amazing Vietnamese Banh Mi (grilled pork) on a baguette pictured on the cover or a colorful Chicken Tinga Burrito Bowl.
This author has unique takes on tea (Rose Milk Tea) and coffee (Sweet Lavender Latte) and breakfast specialties like Orange Pistachio French Toast.
by India Hill Brown

Submitted by Stefanie M.
As the story opens, Iris is determined to sneak out in the middle of the night during North Carolina’s first snowfall of the year with her best friend and neighbor, Daniel. Things seem pretty magical, until they stumble upon an abandoned grave of an 11-year-old girl named Avery.
That night sparks a lot of really weird occurrences in Iris’s life--strange nightmares, mysterious open windows, and her sister’s new “imaginary friend.” Iris and Daniel soon find out that Avery was buried in a segregated gravesite, left to be forgotten, and her spirit is seeking revenge. Will Iris and Daniel figure out a way to seek justice for Avery, and will Avery’s ghost ever find closure? A timely ghost story that explores racism, segregation, and grief in an age-appropriate manner. For fans of Just South of Home and Spirit Hunters.
Recommended for Grades 4+
by Thomas Harding

Submitted by Kelly K.
This picture book is the true story of a house near Berlin, Germany and the people who lived there during WWII through modern times. 

The house witnesses war and division (the Berlin Wall ran right thought its backyard) but eventually becomes a symbol for peace. 

To find out more, visit www.AlexanderHaus.org.
DATABASE OF THE WEEK

Provides access to more than 2 billion names, census records, military records, court, land and probate records, and passenger lists. Content added daily.


Assembles U.S. federal census, banking and military records, local histories, primary source materials, and genealogical and local history serials. 
Follow us on our social media!