Mayors Encouraged by Recommendations from Governors’ Fargo-Moorhead Area Flood Diversion Task Force 
Leaders of the Diversion Board of Authority were encouraged following the fifth and final meeting of the Task Force which was formed by North Dakota Gov. Doug Burgum and Minnesot a Gov. Mark Dayton to find a solution to permanent flood protection for the Fargo-Moorhead area.

“Governor Burgum and Governor Dayton need to be commended for their leadership and for forming this Task Force. The path forward that has been established would also not be possible without the co mmitment to serve made by each Task Force member.” Fargo Mayor and Diversion Authority Chair Tim Mahoney said. “The Diversion Authority will have to carefully review the recommendations made by the Task Force, as we know they will result in impacting more people in rural Cass County, but they also get us closer to a Minnesota permit.”

“A Minnesota permit is needed to resume construction and the recommendations made by the Task Force are a big step towards obtaining that permit,” Moorhead Mayor and Diversion Authority Vice Chair Del Rae Williams said. “There are still several difficult steps in the process ahead of us, but this Task Force shows that when we work together to find common ground, we can find answers.” Read more .

Watch the last meeting here .
See all Task Force meetings and documents
All presentations, documents and videos of the Governors' Task Force meetings are available on
FM Area Diversion Project
Flood Diversion Authority
 Box 2806, 211 Ninth Street South, Fargo, ND 58108  
Learn more about the FM Area Diversion Project at