AFP Banner
Greater Dallas Chapter E-Newsletter                                                        November 2015
Our chapter
e-communications are made possible with the generous support of
Association Works logo
Job Listing Service
2015 Officers & Directors
Welcome New Members
Chapter Contact Information
President's Message
News of Note
Donate to the 2015 AFP Now Campaign and you'll be entered in a drawing to win 
an iPad Mini!
iPad Mini

Now you can  Post and view jobs on our chapter website!
Like us on Facebook
2015 Board of Directors


Diana Marquis, CFRE,


Sue Bailey,

Immediate Past President

Judy Wright,


Melanie Perkins,


Larry Crouch, CFRE

VP/External Affairs

Jennifer Pearson, CFRE

VP/Professional Advancement

Tori Correll, CFRE,


Mary Freeman, CFRE, 


 Leslie Clay, 




Stephanie Brigger, Programs Chair
Ashley Chellgren, At Large

Janet Davis, CFRE, At Large

Sarah Elliott, 2015 NPD Chair

Amber George,
Public Relations Chair

Darrin Goldin, JD, Governance Chair
John Honaman, CFRE,
Youth in Philanthropy Chair

Holly Hull Miori, AFP Now! Chair

Kimberly Humphries, CFRE, At Large

Mary Kardell,
Executive Conversations Chair

Deborah Montonen, CFRE, At Large
Jan Murfield, CFRE,
2015 DFW Conference Chair
Carrie Nelson, CFRE,
Hospitality C

Anne Robillard, CFRE,
New Member Orientation Chair

Luanne Samuel, CFRE,
Scholarships Chair 

Jessica Weidman, Mentor Chair

Shawn Wills, CFRE, Diversity Chair

To contact the Greater Dallas Chapter AFP Board of Directors, go to

Welcome, New Members!

Kelly Bush

Adam Hengeveld
Dallas Lutheran School

Teri Isaacs
Salesmanship Club of Dallas

Sheridan Joslin
Dini Spheris

Soudary Kittivong-Greenbaum

Keyven Lewis
The Keyven Lewis Foundation

Brett Moore
Food Allergy Research & Education

Haley Siegel
Vogel Alcove


Chapter Contact Information:


Greater Dallas Chapter AFP

14070 Proton Rd. Ste 100, LB9

Dallas, TX 75244

972/233-9107 ext. 204

Fax 972/490-4219
















Register by November 9th for the
2015 National Philanthropy Day Luncheon!
Holiday Holly

Featuring Guest Speakers
John & Susan Cuellar

FRIDAY , December 11, 2015, 11:30 a.m. - 1:30 p.m.

Communities Foundation of Texas
5500 Caruth Haven Lane, Dallas, Texas 75225-8146
$45 per person
Seating is limited, reserve early!

Dear Friends,
Diana Marquis

November is synonymous with the Greater Dallas AFP Chapter's National Philanthropy Day Luncheon. For thirty years we have honored the best of the best in philanthropy. This year is no exception:
  • Cecilia and Garrett Boone, Outstanding Philanthropists
  • Nancy Strauss Halbreich, Outstanding Volunteer Fundraiser
  • The Moody Foundation, Outstanding Foundation
  • JPMorgan Chase & Co., Outstanding Corporation
  • Kendall Deitch, Outstanding Youth in Philanthropy
  • James N. Falk, CFRE, Outstanding Fundraising Executive
This year we are pleased to have Nancy Dedman as our Honorary NPD Co-Chair. Scott Murray will receive a Special Recognition Award in honor of his many years of service to our chapter. This is a fantastic group of people and organizations who have made it their mission to make Dallas a better place for everyone who lives here. I look forward to seeing you at the Hyatt Reunion at noon on Friday, November 13th.
The fun doesn't' stop in November. Make your plans to attend our Holiday Luncheon at the Communities Foundation of Texas. Some of our past speakers have been Ruth Altshuler, Forrest Hoglund and Todd and Abby Williams. On Friday, December 11th we will hear from Susan and John Cuellar. The Cuellar family has deep roots in Dallas. Susan and John are pillars of the Dallas philanthropic community as both donors and volunteers. You won't want to miss it.
The 2016 slate of AFP Dallas Chapter officers was unanimously approved at our October meeting. Judy Wright, incoming president, and her board are eager to enhance the AFP membership experience. Outstanding programs have been planned for our monthly luncheon meetings, the annual Professional Development Subscription package is ready for purchase, the mentoring program has kicked off its second year and a new program model is in the works.
Throughout the year I've encouraged you to make the most of your AFP membership by becoming more involved with the Chapter. In 2016 you will have additional opportunities to become active on one or more committees. Let me know that you want to grow in your chosen profession, that you want to learn from your colleagues and that, ultimately, you want to give back. See you at NPD!

Diana Marquis, CFRE
2015 Greater Dallas AFP President 

  Greater Dallas AFP President Diana Marquis says "Stay in touch with your Greater Dallas AFP Chapter and don't miss news of important events and opportunities!"  Changed jobs? When your title, business and/or mailing address, email, or any other contact data changes, be sure to go to   immediately and update your personal record. The Greater Dallas Chapter receives updates monthly, but if you only correct your information locally, it will be overwritten when we import the latest national spreadsheet into our local database.
News of Note

Erin Jines, Annual Fund Manager with the Dallas Theater Center, is the Greater Dallas Chapter's 2016 Chamberlain Scholar. She'll be attending the  AFP International Fundraising Conference, Boston, MA, March 20-22, 2016.

John Roppolo, retired member of the Greater Dallas Chapter AFP, has been named Volunteer of the Year in Carrollton, TX, where he serves on the Historic Preservation Advisory Committee, secretary of the Metrocrest Services board, first vice president and founder of the A. W. Perry Homestead Museum Society, Carrollton representative to the Dallas County Historical Commission and a Mosaic Ambassador. He received his award from Mayor Matthew Marchant at a Citizens' Neighborhood Meeting at the City Hall. John is chair-elect of the National Philanthropy Day Awards Committee.

Mission Advancement Professionals is offering a free workshop, "The Role of Board Leadership," presented by Schuyler Lehman, on November 17th in Plano, and again on November 18th in Fort Worth

Benevon is hosting a free workshop on Wednesday, November 11, 2015, 3-4:30 PM at the Hilton Park Cities. You will learn more about the Benevon model for developing relationships with individual donors. Click here to RSVP.
Grant Writing USA will hold a Grant Writing Workshop in partnership with the North Central Texas Council of Governments in Arlington, December 7th-8th. Use the discount code AFPDallas for a $30 discount off the registration fee. Click here for more information.

Melissa Cameron is the new Executive Director for the American Heart Association's Dallas Division. 

The Eastern Oklahoma Chapter AFP will offer an online CFRE Exam Prep Workshop, December 3rd and 4th, 9 AM to 5 PM.  Register by November 20th at or contact Lindsay Jordan at 918-858-2370, . Participants must have access to technology, including virtual conferencing capability, and will be provided official CFRE Course Review materials 24-48 hours before the workshop begins.
Attention, AFP members! If you've been recognized with an award, promotion or honor, share the news with your Dallas Chapter friends! Send your news item (up to 50 words)
Moving? Changed Jobs?  When your title, employing organization and/or mailing address, email address or any other contact information changes, you must go to   and update your personal membership record. Any local updates would be overwritten when we import the latest national spreadsheet into our database