Walter Prince founded The Great Candy Cane Off-Road Race Team in 1975. The vintage photo, above, shows the Great Candy Cane in action. The team's signature trademark has been to toss out thousands of miniature candy canes, to "provide a little sweetness" to those who come out to watch the races. 

Walter recently added a sweet prize to the 2016 SCORE Baja 1000, offering a $1,000 contingency award to the last official finisher of the 36 hour race.

The Great Candy Cane Race Team at the 2016 SCORE Baja 1000 Tech and Contingency.

"Racing in Baja has always been about finishing," says Walter, "Sure, the big glory goes to those who win their classes, but the toughest racers on the course have always been the ones who overcome all the grueling adversities of the race and simply delight in crossing the Finish Line. The $1,000 cash prize rewards the racers who stick it out until the very end."
#8117 Greg Foutz of Mesa, Arizona in the Stock Full class came in at 35 hours, 59.08.151 seconds,  which was 51.849 seconds under the wire.  It looked like he was going to take the $1,000, but he was edged out by #1500 Ricardo Rodriguez from Ensenada in a Sportsman Buggy, who was 28.471 seconds slower than Foutz, and came in with only 23.278 seconds to spare.  "That's cutting it a little too close!" says Walter.

ORMHOF thanks Walter and his team for their support as a partner of the Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame.  Walter says, "I support ORMHOF because I want the rest of the world to know more about the wild and wacky people who made the sport what it is today!"

The Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame is funded entirely by the off-road industry, teams, racers, promoters and fans. If you are already a member, thank you. If not, please consider joining or making a donation today. 


On behalf of the entire board of directors, I would like to thank and
recognize these businesses and individuals for their support of the
Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame.

We invite you to join this distinguished group.
Mark McMillin, Chairman

Contact Mark 
Happy Holidays from Your ORMHOF Board of Directors
Mark McMillin, Chairman
Rod Hall, Vice Chairman
Colin Butcher
Dave Cole
Frank De Angelo
Bud Feldkamp
Zachary Gerber
Bob Ham
Wes Harbor
Dick Landfield
Bonnie Vessels
Rory Ward

Celebrate the past. Be part of the future. 
The Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame is a 501c3 Non-Profit Organization.
A portion of your donation or membership may be tax deductible.
Please consult with your tax professional for more information.

Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame | barbara@ormhof.org | ormhof.org