Gainesville, GA June 5, 2019 – At the monthly Council Meeting of the Georgia Mountains Regional Commission held on May 31, 2019, the GMRC Council Members selected the new officers for a two-year term beginning on July 1, 2019 and ending on June 30, 2021. 

Chairman-Elect is Sam Norton, Dahlonega; Vice-Chair Elect George Wangemann, Gainesville; and Secretary-Elect Ken Schubring; Baldwin.  

Sam Norton serves as Mayor of the City of Dahlonega and has been a part of the Dahlonega City Council since 2006. As one of the most energetic and dynamic council members, Mayor Norton has been instrumental on the GMRC’s Executive Committee, Finance Committee, and Revolving Loan Fund Committee since joining the GMRC Council in 2006. He also served a previous term as Chairman from 2013-2015. Mayor Norton received the GMRC’s Council Member of the Year Award in 2008. Additionally, he has received the GMRC’s Elected Official of the Year Award in 2009 and 2011.