Summer Concerts at the Library are coming to a close! Join us for the final Thursday night installment and enjoy Hurricane Reggae Band.
Thursday, August 10 | 7:00 p.m.  
ADULT | GENERAL PROGRAMMING

Clue: A Mystery Book Club

Thrilling stories. Thrilling discussions monthly. 

August 11 | Above the Waterfall by Ron Rash

(Available for pick-up at Adult Help Desk)


Rain Reschedule Date: Sunday, August 13 | 2:00 p.m.
Since weather caused us to postpone one of our favorite musical troops, we've re-scheduled them for this coming Sunday. Come on out and enjoy this 17 piece big band! 
Young Adult | Teen  Programs
We have a ton of art supplies and you have a ton of ideas. See what you can make. It might be bad . . . or it could be a masterpiece!
Friday, August 11 | 2:00 p.m - 4:00 p.m.

SPOTLIGHT RESOURCES & SERVICES
Whether you are a new driver or a seasoned pro, we all need to successfully pass a drivers test. Use WAPL's online access point for free driving tests from driving-tests.org.
The Second Mrs. Hockaday by Susan Rivers
Submitted by Terri S.

Absolute gold for book clubs! Received this gem at a conference in 2016, and parked it on my nightstand where it remained until recently, and WOW, am I glad I finally gave it a shot.  This is American Historical Fiction at its best, with a compelling mystery (based on actual events) at the center.  Overall, a great story of the hard fought battles of the Civil War suffered both on the war front as well as the home front.  For fans of Robert Hicks' Widow of the South, and Charles Frazier's Cold Mountain.  Beautifully written, suspenseful and redemptive.  Loved it! (Adult Fiction)
REQUEST

How the Irish Saved Civilization by Thomas Cahill
Submitted by Lynn M.


I'm not sure how many non-historians in the west realize that nearly all that survives of the great literary Roman and Greek civilizations does so because while Europe was falling into chaos and darkness, medieval Irish monks learned to read and write (in Latin and Greek as well as Gaelic), and then compulsively copied everything they could get their hands on. Not only that, but the copies they made are masterpieces of illumination, art that is still displayed in museums and reproduced on prints and carvings and jewelry: Cahill calls them “the most spectacular, magical books the world had ever seen.”

This is the story of these beautiful books, how they came to be, and why they are largely responsible for survival of our intellectual heritage. (Adult Non-Fiction)

 


To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han  
Submitted by Kathryn Stott


Lara Jean has many crushes! In order to help her get over a crush, she writes letters (to her crushes) but doesn’t send them. She simply puts the letters in a hat box which helps her get over it. Her dad takes the hat box to a thrift shop. Unknowingly, the letters (which were never meant to be seen by anyone) get mailed to her former crushes!  This is a sweet romance suitable for middle school on up. (Young Adult Fiction)  

REQUEST.