June 2020
Florence Thibaut
IAWMH President
President's Letter

Dear Friends and colleagues,

Women's mental health in the time of Covid-19 pandemic
 
Even if the fatality rate is lower for women, the Covid-19 pandemic has affected women much more profoundly, both as frontline workers especially in the health and social sector and at home, with an increased workload due to lockdown and quarantine measures.  

It is also noteworthy that the risk of anxiety, PTSD and depressive disorders, following exposure to trauma, is much higher in women. Moreover, many countries have reported a surge in domestic violence cases after the viral outbreak. Gender-based violence are exacerbated by these conditions but may not receive the attention they need in the drive to respond to the pandemic. 

According to Mrs Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka Executive director of UN Women, "Covid-19 pandemic is not just a health issue. It is a profound shock to our societies exposing the deficiencies of public and private arrangements that currently function only if women play multiple and underpaid roles.  This is a moment for governments to recognize both the enormity of the contribution women make and the precarity of so many. This is also an opportunity to build better, stronger, resilient societies that could bring both relief and hope to the women of the world."

IAWMH is pleased to present a webinar on Covid-19 pandemic and Women's Mental Health, "The Price of a Pandemic for Women's Mental Health," to be held on Friday 24 July 2020 at UTC 11:00am. See below for more details.

I hope you and your family are doing well and I wish you all the best for the next months. Take care.

With my best regards

Prof. Florence Thibaut
IAWMH President
IAWMH Webinar on Covid-19 on Friday 24 July 2020

Sketched by Dr. Vandita Shanbag

Chairperson  Welcome  
by Prof. Florence Thibaut 
IAWMH President 
 

The Women behind the Mask - Communicating in the time of COVID 19
Talk by - Shoba S. Meera, Ph.D.  



Virus and Violence -  The Visible and  Invisible  
Talk by - Prof. Prabha S Chandra 



Portraits of the Pandemic from Around the World 
  • Susan Kornstein (USA)
  • Jayashri Kulkarni (Australia)
  • Victoria Valdez Perez (Ecuador)
  • Judith Usall Rodie (Spain)
  • Unaiza Niaz (Pakistan)
  • Gihan ELNahas (Egypt)
Closing Remarks  
Professor Helen Herrman, World Psychiatric Association (WPA), Past President, IAWMH


In order to meet the global time zones across the day the webinar will be presented at 11:00am UTC. This corresponds to the following times from which you may determine your own time zone on Friday 24 July 2020:

London, UK - 11:00am
Paris, France - 12:00noon
Bangalore, India - 4:30pm
Melbourne, Australia - 9:00pm
Lima/Ecuador - 6:00am
New York, US - 7:00am
Chicago, US - 6:00am

Registration, although complimentary, is required to participate.  

Due to the Covid-19 Pandemic the 
9th World Congress on Women's Mental Health 
has been postponed to February 2022.
Save the Date!
Don't miss the 9th World Congress on Women's Mental Health in Melbourne, Australia in February 2022!

We hope you will join your colleagues from across the globe in Melbourne, Australia from 20-23 February 2022 for the 9th World Congress of Women's Mental Health. 

This is a great opportunity to join leading specialists from across the world to discuss the latest in advances in women's mental health. Clinicians, researchers, psychiatrists, doctors, nurses and com
munity groups are invited to contribute to the dialogue by participating in keynote presentations, symposia, workshops, free communications and poster sessions. The Congress offers a unique networking and learning opportunity for professionals to meet and discuss best practice and innovative developments to improve women's mental health.

The Congress will be held at the spectacular Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre, which is centrally located in the city centre and surrounded by a wide range of accommodation options within easy walking distance. So you will have the chance to enjoy and experience Melbourne first hand, rated as one of the world's most liveable cities. It is a culturally diverse city that is recognised for its cosmopolitan appeal and from the contrast of its historical city laneways and modern architecture, exceptional dining, vibrant art galleries, shopping and its sporting culture, Melbourne has it all. On the door step of the city, you can explore some spectacular sights and natural beauty on offer.

And of course we encourage you to take a little extra time to explore the land of contrast Australia truly is - from the lush tropical rainforests and breathtaking beaches of Queensland, the excitement and splendour of Sydney's Harbour to the spectacular wine regions of Adelaide - the options are endless.

Planning is well underway to ensure you have a memorable experience and we will keep IAWMH members informed to help in your planning. Be sure to visit the website www.iawmh2021.org and register your interest to receive further information. We look forward to seeing you in Melbourne!


IAWMH Membership Renewal

We are pleased to offer reduced membership fees in 2020! 

IAWMH Membership runs from January 1 to December 31.  To renew your membership please click on the link below.  Please note that you will need to create a new record with your details since there is a new registration system starting in January 2020.

Looking for news from our members!

As we are preparing IAWMH Newsletters we want to highlight our members' activities, awards and news. Let us know what's happening that would be of interest to other IAWMH members. Send your news to Debby Tucker at debra@iawmh.org  to be included in the next newsletter.

STAY CONNECTED: