Beginning January 1, 2021 employers must begin deducting 1/2 of 1% of each employee's wages and send it to the Paid Leave Authority.
Connecticut Public Act 19-25, An Act Concerning Paid Family and Medical Leave was enacted in 2019 and requires all employees to pay into the fund. The fund, administered by the Connecticut Paid Family and Medical Leave Insurance Authority (CT Paid Leave Authority), was established as a quasi-government agency tasked with administering the Connecticut Paid Leave program. Employers will be responsible for withholding and submitting the payroll deductions for each employee. These deductions must be submitted to the CT Paid Leave Authority quarterly.
Covered employees working in Connecticut are eligible for benefits under PFMLA if they have earned wages of at least $2,325 in the highest-earning quarter of the first four of the five most recently completed quarters (the “base period”) and are currently employed, or have been employed within the last 12 weeks.
Sole proprietors or self-employed individuals may also participate, but must remain in the program for three years.
Employees MAY begin receiving benefits January 1, 2022.
Every employer with one or more employees MUST register their business with the Paid Leave Authority.
Click HERE to register your business with the Connecticut Paid Leave Authority
You are able to opt out if your company has a private plan that has the same benefits.
Click HERE to prove exemption or for the ”Opt Out” form. LINK TO EXEMPTION FORM
Here is a complete kit for employers that will answer all your questions.
Click HERE for the complete LINK TO EMPLOYER PAID FMLA INFO KIT