May 24, 2018
Independent Investigation Of Entergy To Proceed; Moreno Directs Entergy To Produce All Documents and Materials Related to Paid Actors
Councilmember-At-Large Helena Moreno
NEW ORLEANS - Today, the New Orleans City Council passed Councilmember-At-Large Helena Moreno's motions (M-18-196 and M-18-197) to begin a formal Council Investigation of Entergy New Orleans (ENO) and to retain an independent investigator regarding the use of paid actors during the NOPS public comment process over the past year.
"The people of New Orleans must have the truth about ENO's actions during the NOPS process," said Councilmember Moreno. "Today, we begin an independent investigation on behalf of New Orleanians that will produce a transparent, comprehensive look at ENO's actions and form the basis for any further action by this Council going forward."
Co-authored by all seven of the Councilmembers, Moreno's first motion directs ENO to produce a wide variety of documents and materials under the Council's Charter authority to conduct investigations. The second begins the RFQ process to retain a qualified, independent investigator to spend thirty days reviewing and analyzing the materials in order to produce and compile a report for public inspection.
The investigatory report will be delivered to the Council for use by the body to take any further action as necessary to hold ENO accountable for the potential corruption of the public process.


Andrew Tuozzolo
Chief of Staff
Office of Councilmember-at-Large Helena Moreno
(504) 281-9882
New Orleans City Council 
The New Orleans City Council is the legislative branch of New Orleans city government. The Council considers and enacts all local laws that govern the City of New Orleans. The Council also approves the operating and capital budgets for the City, as recommended by the mayor, and continually monitors revenues and expenditures for local government operations. The City Council is also the regulatory body for public utilities. It also reviews and has final say on many land use and zoning matters, as well as considers major economic development projects for the City. As a Board of Review for Orleans Parish, the Council examines appeals of property tax assessments for real estate taxes, and certifies tax rolls to the Louisiana Tax Commission. Other responsibilities of the Council include overseeing the operation of the public access television in Orleans Parish. Streaming video and video archives of the City Council's Regular and Committee meetings can be found on the City Council website.

The City Council is comprised of five districts and two Councilmembers-at-large. Council President and Councilmember-at-Large Jason R. Williams; Council Vice President and Councilmember-at-Large Helena Moreno; District "A" Councilmember Joseph I. Giarrusso; District "B" Councilmember Jay H. Banks; District "C" Councilmember Kristin Gisleson Palmer; District "D" Councilmember Jared C. Brossett; and District "E" Councilmember Cyndi Nguyen.