Insider Update
July 2019

Volume 1 / Issue 2
Co-Chair's Message

Our early vision for Hospice of Southern Maine included a permanent hospice center -- a place to fully support the home hospice program, with a bereavement center and end-of-life education spaces for both professionals and the community. By beginning construction on the new Hospice Center, we are taking the first step toward fulfilling that early dream of a comprehensive center. 

Thank you for helping making this vision a reality,

Katherine S. Pope, MD
Home Hospice Care Campaign Co-Chair, 2019
Founding Board Chair, 2004‐2009
Capital Campaign Chair, 2003‐2007
New Campaign Website!
To see the latest news coverage, make a gift, or learn more about the new Hospice Center and capital campaign to support it, please visit .
At a Glance
  • June 13 - Groundbreaking Ceremony kicks off campaign's Public Phase
  • Groundbreaking photos - to see them all click here
  • Construction begins July 15!
  • $5.6M Campaign Goal
  • New home hospice video, with HSM nurse Mike Schooley
Thank you to our friends and supporters who stood with us that rainy night...
This is a group photo of many of the people who attended the Groundbreaking Ceremony on June 13, including Senator Collins, HSM Board Members, Campaign Honorary and Co-Chairs, employees, and many of the businesses, foundations, and individuals who support us - yesterday, today, and tomorrow. Thank you!
$250,000 and higher
Annette Gosnell
Hannaford Charitable Foundation
Dr. Harold L. Osher Family

$100,000 - $249,999
The Bauman Family Foundation
The Sam L. Cohen Foundation
Theresa Desfosses and Family
Joan R. Fink
Cathy Houlihan and Bo Norris
The Lennox Foundation
Norway Savings Bank
Saco & Biddeford Savings Charitable Foundation and P&C Insurance
Smaha Family Charitable Fund

$50,000 - $99,999
Biddeford Savings
Sue and Bill Caron
Partners Bank

$25,000 - $49,999
Daryl J. Cady
Roland and Joy Eon
Kennebunk Savings Bank
Ed and Shirley McGeachey
New England Cancer Specialists
Katherine S. Pope, MD
Al and Linda Swallow

$10,000 - $24,999
Anonymous (2)
Maryanna and Michael Arsenault
Melanie and Eliot Cutler
John Herrick Gooch
Gorham Savings Bank
Roger Hessenius and Family
Holly and Art LeBlanc
Betsey McCandless
Lynn C. Potoff
Mark and Deborah Tuller - Atlantic Comfort Systems, Inc.
David E. Warren
Nate Wilson and Tricia Gallagher
$1,000 - $9,999
Michael and Nancy Beebe
Mrs. Patricia A. Beville
Elaine and John Brady
Wallace E. Camp
Chris Coon
Marilyn S. Dashner
Linda and Rick Davis
Donna DeBlois
Pamela L. Doyle
Douglas Dransfield
Heidi and Ken Farber
Mary Frances and William Frank
Steven A. Goldstein and Mary T. Pinto
Mr. and Mrs. James Gorman, Sr.
Heidi N. Hansen
David F. and Karen R. Haskell Fund
Dr. David and Karen Haskell
Haste Family Fund
Peter L. Haynes
Mark H. Jones
William S. Jose
Richard and Janine Lamy
Miriam Leonard
Paul and Janet Letalien
Michelle Malo
Thomas and Susan Mason
Laura and Scott McCown
Barbara A. McManus
Joy Mills and Arthur Benedict
Kevin Montminy
River, Daniel, and Fernando Moreno
Nancy and Christopher Pezzullo
Mary A. Pinto
Ms. Kristi Robinson
Jane Sawyer
Donnalee A. Sherburne
Greg Sweetser
Corning Townsend III
UNE College of Osteopathic Medicine
/ American Geriatric Society Student Chapter
Verne and Tracey Wesiberg
Philip J. Villandry, M.D.
Paul and Judy Wolf

Anonymous (25)
Marie Aceto
Abigail Adams
Glenna and David Ahearn
Jane Andrews
Thomas M. Armstrong
Jennifer and Frederick Aronson
Janice K. Bailey
Barbara Baisley
Danuta M. Barnard
Mary Rachel F. Bernier
Ingrid Bischoff
Suzanne Blair
Cathy B. Bowden
Elaine and Keith Brackett
Janice Brackett
Lisa Brenner
Richard D. Brooks
Deborah Brown
Capt. Thomas F. and Susan C. Brown
Delphine J. Budreau
Marie T. Burgie
Jacqueline S. Callan
Leon E. Cambridge
Bill Carland
Mr. and Mrs. James E. Carroll
Dr. and Mrs. Michael P. Carroll
Charles Cate
Maryellen Chiasson
C. M. Cimino, Inc.
Carolyn and Chris Colpitts
Comfort Keepers #733
Roberta Conuel
Priscilla "Dee" Cordeiro
Raymond R. Croteau
Geraldine M. Curlew
Charles de Sieyes & Carol Ward
Mr. and Mrs. David DesJardins
David and Fern DiPietro
Sherill and Gordon Dover
Eva Downs
Laura Dunham
Josephine Durant
Walter J. Eno
Helen Fecteau
Melanie L. Feinberg
David Ferland
Douglas Jr. and Suzanne Foglio
Peter and Lenora Foley
Thomas P. and Anita J. Fournier
Marie Gambino
General Dynamics Employees' Community Action Council
Jade Gere
David and Karen Giansiracusa
Joseph Giso and Family
Alice M. Goodwin
Doris M. Grover
Maureen M. Grubb
Frances C. Halamandaris
Vietta Hamblen
The Harnois Family
Daniel and Phyllis Hayes
James and Beverly Heald
Jill Hibyan
Grace Hodge
Peggy Hoff
Stephanie Hutchins
I. Jane Isenberg
Mary and Bill Johnson
William R. Judkins
Larry and Wendy Kane
Margaret and Jerry Kendall
Elizabeth Kiley
Claudia Kinnear
Suzanne LaCroix
Linda Lamontagne
Nancy Legere
Pat and Dave Lennox
Kathy Lombard
Mr. and Mrs. Clyde W. Luce, Jr.
David M. Maloney
Geraldine Merrithew
Cheryl A. Miner
Conner and Wendy Moore
Irene Morris
Deborah Morrissey
Joan Morton

Thomas M. Mouzas
Richard Mullen
Rita Mullins
Nappi Distributors
New England Steel Fabricators
Michael G. Ott
Eleanor and Robert Pierce
Barbara R. Pillsbury
Mark Pinkham and Ken Drew
Catherine Pinto
John J. Podolske
Chad E. Poitras Cremation & Funeral Service
Eva Polisner
Mertie Porter
Aleta Prevatt
R. M. Davis
Karen Reece and Mike Carvalho
Ann M. Reiman
Mrs. Sharon F. Renault
Carol Schoneberg
Greg and Karen Searle
Ellen and Donald B. Smith
M. Allene Snodderly
Nancy F. Spooner
Sarah Sprogell
St. David's Budget Box
Susan Stavropoulos
Carol Steingart
James Steuernagle
Elizabeth Szatkowski
Mrs. Betty A. Tacy
Timothy and Dierdre Thornton
Jay and Elise Ungar
Louis Vire
Jeannette M. Wallace
Nancy Wanderer & Susan Sanders
Rev. and Mrs. Jacob Watson
Nancy B. White
MaryLou Winslow
Karen Wynne
Xuron Corp.
If you'd like your name to appear differently than it appears here, please email us .
Home Hospice Care Campaign Committee
Elaine Brady, RN
William Caron
Melanie Stewart Cutler, MD
Theresa Desfosses
Joan Fink
Annette Gosnell
Christopher Harte
Daniel Hayes, MD
Louise and Ralph Hurlbutt
Holly LeBlanc
Ken Smaha
David Warren, Esq.

Katherine S. Pope, MD
Al and Linda Swallow

Roland and Joy Eon
Edward and Shirley McGeachey

Maryanna Arsenault
Linda Bancroft
Daryl J. Cady, CEO
Heidi Farber, Development Director
Jill Hibyan
Mark Jones
Theo Kalikow

Edward J. McGeachey, Chair
Paul Wolf, Vice Chair
Chris Coon, Treasurer
Maryanna Arsenault, Secretary
Daryl J. Cady, CEO
Fernando Moreno, Medical Director
Donna DeBlois
Theresa Desfosses
Melanie Feinberg
Annette Gosnell
Heidi N. Hansen
Mark Jones
Laura Madigan-McCown
Frank McGinty
Tracey Weisberg, MD
Nathan Wilson, MD