From the Dean
Dear Colleagues,
I am pleased to announce the 2020 class of  John A.   Watson   Faculty   Scholars   and recipients of the  Dean’s Diversity Fund  awards:
The UCSF School of Medicine Dean’s Diversity Fund was established in 2015 to support the recruitment and retention of faculty who share the university’s commitment to diversity and our belief that we have the responsibility to care for underserved and vulnerable populations. The awards provide faculty with three-year, $75,000 per year support to develop their academic interests, as well as pursue activities that contribute to the community.

This fund was initiated by the dean and implemented by the Chairs and Directors Council on Diversity ( CD2 .) The awards are named after Professor John A. Watson, a champion for diversity, an inspiring mentor, and a tenacious scientist. During his tenure as dean of admissions in the 1970s, he rapidly increased the number of women and minority students in the entering medical school classes. Since the fund's inception, Watson Scholars have been supported in 17 of our 28 departments.

I want to thank Mark Wilson, MD, chair of the selection committee, and the members of the committee for their commitment and thorough review of many deserving candidates.

Please join me in congratulating these outstanding faculty members for their commitment to fostering a culture of inclusion throughout UCSF and in the communities we serve.
Talmadge E. King, Jr., MD
Dean, School of Medicine