CIBJO invites you to join the 5th 'Jewellery Industry Voices' webinar,
looking at how the COVID crisis is impacting mining and the mining communities

With disruptions in the supply chain caused by lockdowns in both the gemstone processing centres and the jewellery retail markets, mining houses supplying raw materials to the industry have selected to curtail or reduce production, while at the same taking measures to protect the health of their workforces. Certain markets have begun to reopen, but with unsold inventory still languishing in the pipeline, the decision when to renew or increase production is a difficult one.

It is a situation that is even more complicated in the informal mining sector, which accounts for only a small portion of total production, but makes up the bulk of people earning their livelihood from gemstone and precious metal production. This weighs heavily on the communities that are dependent on the revenues they produce, and the situation is particularly acute in those countries where artisanal and small-scale mining dominates. Not only are the health systems often ill equipped to deal with the pandemic, but the loss of income and the inability to get goods to market can be particularly challenging.

CIBJO’s “Jewellery Industry Voices” webinar series looks at the impact and implications of the COVID-19 coronavirus crisis from the perspective of industry figures. The fifth edition will examine the impact and consequences of the global pandemic on the mining houses and the informal sector, both economically and socially .
 
Entitled “ THE COVID EFFECT: Impact on Mining and Mining Communities ,” the fifth Jewellery Industry Voices webinar features three leading industry experts – Feriel Zerouki , Senior Vice President of International & Ethical Initiatives at the De Beers Group; Peter Karakchiev, Head of the International Relations Department at ALROSA; and Estelle Levin-Nally , Founder of Levin Sources. It is scheduled for Thursday, May 21, 2020.
 
The webinar will be moderated by Edward Johnson and Steven Benson, and hosted by CIBJO President Gaetano Cavalieri. It will start at 9:00 AM New York, 2:00 PM London, 3:00 PM Milan, 5:00 PM Dubai, 6:30 PM Mumbai, 9:00 PM Hong Kong.

CIBJO's Jewellery Industry Voices webinar series is produced with the support of the Italian Exhibition Group, organiser of the VICENZAORO jewellery shows.


Register in advance for the FREE webinar
CHECK YOUR TIMEZONE BEFORE REGISTERING

Thursday, May 21, 2020
9:00 AM New York, 2:00 PM London, 3:00 PM Milan, 5:00 PM Dubai, 6:30 PM Mumbai, 9:00 PM Hong Kong


CIBJO  is the international jewellery confederation of national trade organisations. CIBJO's purpose is to encourage harmonisation, promote international cooperation in the jewellery industry and to consider issues which concern the trade worldwide. CIBJO's chief mission is to protect consumer confidence in the industry. CIBJO is the sole jewellery industry organisation to have Special Consultative Status with the United Nation's Economic & Social Council (ECOSOC) and is a member of the UN Global Compact.