Greetings Relatives,

We are sharing an invitation to our upcoming Online Learning Event (OLE) on The History of Indian Education and Its Impact on Student Development that will be held May 13, 2022. This OLE is open to all interested communities and will be led by the Tribal Youth Resource Center (TYRC).

  • TOPIC: The History of Indian Education and Its Impact on Student Development

  • TIME: 10am AKT/ 11am PT/ 12pm MT/ 1pm CT/ 2pm ET

Session Description:

The Tribal Youth Resource Center (TYRC) presenters will provide an in-depth overview at the history of education within public learning institutions and its impact on the American Indian/Alaskan Native (AI/AN) population. Educational systems have historically been utilized to inflict generational trauma within AI/AN families. This Online Learning Event will share insight on how education has been presented and received by the AI/AN peoples within the United States, shared outcomes associated.

Learning Objectives:

  • Create an understanding of the history of United States and laws and policies that have has been detrimental on K-12 Indian education including the impact of boarding schools.

  • Understanding generational trauma in the context of the K-12 education system. Generational Trauma: What is generational trauma? A focused discussion on contemporary effects of generational trauma including but not limited to delinquency, truancy, alcohol/drug abuse and other coping strategies and its Impact on student identity and development. 

  • Understanding the importance of creating strategies to establish and maintain effective relationships between tribal nations and schools in order to collaboratively and effectively meet the needs of American Indian youth. Working models and examples that demonstrate the positive effects of equitable, inclusive and collaborative learning environments will be highlighted which will benefit grantees both during implementation and after grant close out.


Facilitators:
Deidra Flurry,
Training and Technical Assistance Specialist, Tribal Youth Resource Center 
Amber Silverhorn-Wolfe, Consultant,
Tribal Youth Resource Center 
Donna Richey,
Tribal Services Director,
Communities in Schools of Mid America
Tesia Zientek,
National Indian Education Association (NIEA)
Chelsey Dorrough, SAMHSA Grant Administrator for the Wichita and Affiliated Tribes, OK
Tribal Youth Resource Center | TribalYouth.org
(323) 650-5467 | TribalYouth@TLPI.org
8235 Santa Monica Blvd., Suite 211
West Hollywood, CA 90046