Mark Your Calendar

May 25 - Avondale House Graduation
May 27 - Teacher Prep, no school
May 30 - Memorial Day Holiday (no school, offices closed)
May 31 - Teacher Prep, no school
"Faces of Autism" Student Art Exhibition

After two years of virtual presentation, the annual student art exhibit, "Faces of Autism", returns to the walls of the Texas Southern University Department of Human Services and Consumer Sciences building. For the 9th consecutive year, the display features students from Avondale House and served as an outlet for creative self-expression and communication. The exhibition runs in conjunction with National Autism Acceptance Month from April 1st until April 30th. It is free to visit and open to the public.
Sensory Friendly Day at the Houston Museum of Natural Science

This Saturday, April 23rd, the Houston Museum of Natural Science will host an all-day event where exhibits and venues, including the Burke Baker Planetarium, Wortham Giant Screen Theatre, and Cockrell Butterfly Center, are modified to create a sensory neutral environment for those with sensory sensitivities.

Additional details can be found on the HMNS website
Run for a Reason in 2023

Are you interested in the 2023 Chevron Houston Marathon, Aramco Houston Half Marathon, or We Are Houston 5K?
Join Team Avondale House!

No matter how you choose to participate, you'll raise much needed funds for the students and clients that Avondale House serves every day.

Welcome to the Board of Directors, Chereese Johnson!

Avondale House is excited to welcome Chereese Johnson to the Board of Directors. Chereese is an experienced human resources professional and currently serves as the Diversity & Inclusion Strategy Leader of the Americas Region at Chevron. As an active community member, Chereese has worked extensively with the National Black MBA Association - Houston Chapter and currently serves on The Ensemble Theatre Board of Directors. Chereese was an active volunteer with the United Way of Greater Houston and connected with Avondale House through the Project Blueprint program, which trains tomorrow's nonprofit board leadership to ensure that Houston's nonprofit sector reflects the rich diversity of our community.
Team Member of the Month: Alejandra "Alex" Beaulieu
Alex has been a part of the Avondale House team for over 16 years and is celebrated by her team in the School of Avondale House! School Principal Paul Kandola notes that "Alex's dedication and willingness to always help in whatever situation arises is truly one of a kind. You can always find her with a smile on her face and ready to jump into action! Her “it’s Friday” dance is sure to always brighten your day!"

Thank you for all you do for Avondale House, Alex!
Avondale House wishes to thank and acknowledge these recent donors:

Jeffery Addicks Le Foster and H.N. Ananthaswamy Leah Antoniewicz Rachael Appel Shepherd Bankhead Joseph Birkofer Sherry Boss Mike Bradbury Jeff Bricken Kristen and David Buck Lucian Bukowski Rusty Burnett
Cecile Garraux and Fadi Chahine Citizens 1st Bank James Perkins John Clarke Danielle Comeaux Lynne Cook Lulu and David DeAnda Ryan Del Bello
Janet and Rick Dixon Julie Dodson Thomas Dorman Enterprise Products Operating Jordana and Ken Fatur Kevin Gerrity Dinah Godwin Neelou Goodarzi
Gaby and Steven Graubart Taylor Grimes Lauren and Robert Hagerich
Amanda Hansen Lisa Hernandez Mae Holm E.S. Horan Peter Hotez
Mark and Heather Hurley Michael Johnson Paul Kandola Linda Kleeman
Jacqueline Koenig Hillary Lipsey Matthew Marisk Marian McClendon
Joycelyn Morris Jenna Mossbarger Jane and Michael Murray
Ashley and Christian Nelly Jean Neustadt III Mary Oleyar Sara Orsak
Meena and Scott Parazynski Jennifer and Chris Parr Margaret Penoli
Angela Pettigrew Amy Pierce Laura and Michael Puzio James Reilly
Charlie San Miguel Mark Schusterman Frieda E Schweinle Shell Oil Company
Brian Simmons Sarah Smith Lisa Sternschuss Ashley Stevens Sofia Straus
Mark Sullivan Cathy Sussman Tammy Tran Nguyen Kim Vaughn Sherida Vida
Gail Vozzella Barrett Webster Harry Weitzel Kelly Willbanks
Michele and David Wiseley Ed Wolff Michelle Yu