Ja'Marr Chase of LSU Wins the 2019 Biletnikoff Award Which Recognizes the College Football Season's Outstanding FBS Receiver Regardless of Position

For Immediate Release: December 12, 2019   
2019 Biletnikoff Award Winner Ja'Marr Chase
Tallahassee, FL - The Tallahassee Quarterback Club (TQC) Foundation, Inc., the Florida-based creator and sponsor of the prestigious Biletnikoff Award, announces that LSU's Ja'Marr Chase is the 2019 winner of the Biletnikoff Award. Tonight, Ja'Marr Chase was presented as the winner on The Home Depot College Football Awards presented by Gildan, which was broadcast live by ESPN from the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, Georgia. The other outstanding finalists are CeeDee Lamb of Oklahoma and Michael Pittman, Jr., of USC. 
The secure and confidential electronic voting by the distinguished members of the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee was conducted from December 2 through December 8, and certified by a prominent CPA firm.
The Biletnikoff Award annually recognizes the season's outstanding FBS receiver in college football. Any player, regardless of position (wide receiver, tight end, slot back, and running back) who catches a pass is eligible for the award. As such, the Biletnikoff Award recognizes college football's outstanding receiver, not merely college football's outstanding wide receiver.  
Ja'Marr Chase's 2019 regular season statistics in 13 wins, including victories over the #3, #4, #7, and two #9 ranked teams: 73 Catches, 1498 Receiving yards, 20.5 Yards/Catch, 18 Touchdowns
Ja'Marr Chase scoring a touchdown against #9 Florida 
Ja'Marr Chase graduated from Archbishop Rummel High School in Metairie, Louisiana
The semifinalists, finalists, and award recipient are selected by the highly distinguished Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, a group of prominent college football journalists, commentators, announcers, Biletnikoff Award winners, and other former receivers. Foundation trustees do not vote and have never voted. For a list of voters, please see BiletnikoffAward.com/voters.

The Biletnikoff Award candidate eligibility and voting criteria, transparently explicit and detailed, are available for review at BiletnikoffAward.com/criteria.      

The correlation between Biletnikoff Award winners and stardom in the National Football League is nearly uniformly consistent. Past Biletnikoff Award winners include Calvin Johnson, Randy Moss, Michael Crabtree, Amari Cooper, the late Terry Glenn, and Larry Fitzgerald. 
Ja'Marr Chase will be presented the Biletnikoff Award trophy by TQC Foundation Chairman Steve Dobson, III, college and pro football hall of famer Fred Biletnikoff, and the dynamic and inspiring keynoter and college football hall of famer Lou Holtz before 550 patrons at the Biletnikoff Award Banquet at the University Center Club at Doak Campbell Stadium in Tallahassee on Saturday, February 15, 2020. The banquet was hailed by 2014 keynote speaker Dick Vermeil, as well as by 2013 keynoter Larry Csonka, as "the best banquet in college sports."
2020 Biletnikoff Award Banquet keynoter Lou Holtz

Fred Biletnikoff, Founding Trustee & past Chairman Walter Manley II, 2018 Biletnikoff Award winner Jerry Jeudy, and banquet keynote speaker Aaron Taylor
2019 Biletnikoff Award finalists: Ja'Marr Chase, CeeDee Lamb, and Michael Pittman, Jr.
The banquet has featured distinguished keynoters of profound character and accomplishments including the late Bart Starr, Dick Vermeil, Floyd Little, Larry Csonka, Steve Largent, Mike Ditka, Don Shula, Dan Reeves, Archie Manning, Ron Jaworski, Gene Stallings, Bob Griese, Bill Curry, Bobby Bowden, Jim Kelly, Jerry Kramer, Joe Theismann, Dan Fouts, and Aaron Taylor.
The TQC Foundation's charitable mission is the provision of college and vocational scholarships to North Florida high school seniors who have overcome significant barriers to achieve at the highest academic and extracurricular levels. Participation in sports is not a requirement. The Foundation has provided many millions of dollars for several hundreds of scholarships and related benefits through 2019.

2019 Scholarship recipients

The name Biletnikoff is synonymous with the term receiver . Fred Biletnikoff, a member of the pro and college football halls of fame, was a consensus All-America receiver at Florida State University, and an All-Pro receiver for the Oakland Raiders. He caught 589 passes for 8,974 yards and 76 touchdowns in his 14-year Raiders career from 1965 through 1978. Fred was the Most Valuable Player of Super Bowl XI.

The Biletnikoff Award 
Biletnikoff Trophy

The Biletnikoff Award is presented annually to the season's
outstanding college football receiver regardless of position (the award defines receiver as any player who catches a pass; hence, tight ends, slot receivers and backs, inside receivers, wide receivers, split ends, and running backs are eligible)

The TQC Foundation, Inc., is an independent, charitable organization that was founded in 1994. Past and Current Chairman & Founding Trustee Professor Walter W. Manley II, Founding Trustee L. Thomas Cox, Jr., Founding Trustee Rocky Bevis, and Founding Trustee Bob Teel established the award and the TQC Foundation, Inc., that sponsors it. Many more trustees have contributed to its development as one of the most prominent awards in college football. The TQC Foundation, Inc., joined the idea of a college receiver's award to the organization's vision and created the outstanding award and dynamic organization.

The trophy, presented to each winner, is the most beautiful in college football - it has won several national, juried competitions for design excellence and aesthetic appeal.

Likewise, the website and printed banquet program have been cited nationally for excellence in design.

The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc., a 501(c)(3) organization, is the creator and sponsor of the Biletnikoff Award. The Foundation administers the Biletnikoff Award, its charitable activities, and the distinguished Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee. Foundation Trustees are prohibited from serving on the National Selection Committee. For a full recounting of the Foundation's activities, please consult BiletnikoffAward.com.

National College Football Awards Association


The Biletnikoff Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 25 awards now boast over 800 recipients, dating to 1935. Visit ncfaa.org to learn more about the association.  

Chairman of Selection:
Professor Walter W. Manley II
Founding Trustee & Past Chairman of the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc.
Creator and Sponsor of the Biletnikoff Award
Cell 850-766-0800

Deputy Chairman of Selection:
Ritchie Pickron
Cell 850-363-0174

Website and Publicity Contact:
Will Stewart