January 2018 Newsletter of the
Delaware Academy of Medicine /  Delaware Public Health Association

The Delaware Academy of Medicine / Delaware Public Health Association is pleased to welcome you to our reinstated monthly update. 

If you would prefer NOT to receive this update, PLEASE DON'T UNSUBSCRIBE.  Instead, please e-mail ksmith@delamed.org and we will remove you from the newsletter subscription.
Delaware Journal of Public Health

This issue of the Journal focuses on Oral Health, including healthy teeth, mouth, throat, tongue, teeth, and gums.  

Our guest editor is Delaware Academy of Medicine president, Daniel J. Meara, MD, DMD.

Click Here to Read More

Next Issue
Planning & Public Health
Did You Know?

January is...

Frank M. and Robert R. Hoopes Medical/Dental Lecture

The keynote speaker for the 2018 Frank M. and Robert R. Hoopes Medical/Dental Lecture was Louis G. Mercuri, DDS, MS.  

Dr. Mercuri lectures locally, nationally, and internationally on subjects related to the diagnosis, non-surgical, and surgical management of temporomandibular (TMJ) joint disorders and discussed "TMJ Facts and Foibles" on January 11, 2018.  

Dr. Mercuri                                                      The Hoopes Family

Past Presidents' Brunch
On December 2nd, Academy Board Members were invited to honor the past presidents of the organization.  Immediate past president Arun Malhotra, MD ('14-'16), along with past presidents William Duncan, MD ('76-'77), Joseph "Skip" Kuhn, MD ('00-'02), Joseph Kestner, Jr, MD ('06-'08), and Barry Kayne, DDS ('08-'10) were among those recognized for their work in leading the Academy for the past 87 years.

Standing (L - R): President Elect Omar Khan, MD; Immediate Past President Arun Malhotra, MD; Current President Daniel Meara, MD, DMD; Barry Kayne, DDS.
Seated (L - R): William Duncan, MD; Joseph Kestner, Jr, MD; Joseph Kuhn, MD

Save the Date

Thursday, March 1, 8, 15, 22, 29 and April 5, 2018
Mini-Medical School

March 12, 2018
Delaware Clinical & Translational Research (DE-CTR) ACCEL Conference

April 2 - 8, 2018
National Public Health Week

April 16, 2018
Inaugural Delaware Lung Cancer Symposium
In collaboration with the Gene Editing Institute of the Helen F. Graham Cancer Center & Research Institute, Christiana Care Health System

Spotlight On: 

Omar Khan, MD, MHS, FAAFP

Dr. Khan is the president-elect of the Delaware Academy of Medicine / Delaware Public Health Association, the president of our Advisory council, and has recently been appointed as President and CEO of the Delaware Health Science Alliance (DHSA) - a consortium of Christiana Care Health System (CCHS), Thomas Jefferson University (TJU), Nemours, and the University of Delaware.  

He is the Physician Leader for Academic Programs and Partnerships (CCHS), and Associate Vice-Chair of the Department of Family & Community Medicine (TJU).  He also serves as co-Director for Community Engagement & Outreach for ACCEL, the Delaware Clinical and Translational Research Program. 

Dr. Khan is a practicing physician with interests in general primary care, medical education, outcomes research infrastructure, and global health.

Dr. Khan is board certified in Family Medicine.
The Delaware Academy of Medicine Historical Archives

The Academy's History and Archive Collection is a testament to the medical technology, techniques, and practices used by Delaware physicians and dentists. 

For more than 85 years, the Academy has been the recipient of various collections of historically significant books, periodicals, medical instruments, and equipment.  The Academy's dedicated archivist, along with a subcommittee of the Board of Directors, is dedicated to ensuring that this historical legacy is properly preserved and maintained.

2017 Annual Meeting

The Academy's 2017 Annual Meeting featured Victor Dzau, MD, president of the National Academy of Medicine, as our keynote speaker.  Dr. Dzau served nearly 10 years as chancellor for health affairs at Duke University, has held influential posts at Harvard Medical School, Brigham and Women's Hospital, and Stanford University.  Dr. Dzau is internationally recognized as a trailblazer in translational research, health innovation, and global health care strategy.  

The Lewis B. Flinn President's Award is made in the name of Lewis B. Flinn, founder and first president of the Delaware Academy of Medicine.  It is awarded every year to an individual or organization that has achieved distinction by substantive contributions to the well being of our community through education, leadership, philanthropy, or service. 

The 2017 recipient was the Honorable Susan Del Pesco, Esq.  Judge Del Pesco had a long and illustrious career as an attorney in private legal practice, a Superior Court Judge, a past president of the Delaware State Bar Association, and the Director of the Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection. Upon retiring, she championed the passage of the Delaware Medical Orders for Scope of Treatment legislation to ensure the honoring of patients' rights, and she continues to work to improve the rights of women in her spare time. 

T he Academy also honors a Delaware nonprofit organization who has shown outstanding leadership and dedication to the improvement of our community with the Public Health Recog nition Award .  This year, the American Lung Association of the Mid-Atlantic and President and CEO, Deborah P. Brown, MS, BS were the recipients of this award due to their continuing efforts to save lives by improving lung health and preventing lung disease through research, education, and advocacy.  The Mid-Atlantic Region has worked closely with the Academy, led the charge on the Delaware Clean Indoor Air Act, and has partnered with the Academy to create a Chronic Disease Collaborative.

2018 Annual Meeting

American Public Health Association

The 2017 Annual APHA Meeting & Expo took place November 4 - 8 in Atlanta, Georgia.  One of the highlights of Academy executive director Tim Gibbs' (second from left) trip was meeting Surgeon General, Jerome Adams, MD, MPH (left). 
The 2016 - 2018 Board of Directors

President: Daniel J. Meara, MD, DMD
President Elect: Omar A. Khan, MD, MHS
Vice President and Secretary: Victor L. Gregory, DMD
Treasurer: S. John Swanson, MD
Immediate Past President: Arun V. Malhotra, MD
Executive Director: Timothy E. Gibbs, MPH, NPMc 

David M. Bercaw, MD
Eric T. Johnson, MD
Joseph F. Kestner, Jr, MD
Brian W. Little, MD, PhD
Kathleen W. McNicholas, MD, JD
Sandra P. Medinilla, MD, MPH (2017)
Joseph A. Napoli, MD, DDS
John P. Piper, MD
Ehtasham A. Qureshi, MD (2017)
Albert A. Rizzo, MD

Robert B. Flinn, MD
Barry S. Kayne, DDS
Leslie W. Whitney, MD
The Advisory Council

President: Omar Khan, MD, MHS
Executive Director: Timothy E. Gibbs, MPH, NPMc

Louis E. Bartoshesky, MD, MPH
Gerard Gallucci, MD, MSH
Richard E. Killingsworth, MPH
Erin K. Knight, PhD
Melissa K. Melby, PhD
Mia A. Papas, PhD
Karyl T. Rattay, MD, MS
Margot L. Savoy, MD, MPH
William Swiatek, MA, AICP

The Delaware Academy of Medicine / Delaware Public Health Association
302-733-3900 | elentz@delamed.org | www.delamed.org