March 6, 2020
R OCKLAND NEWS
Celluloid heroes
Rockland JCC film festival touches many emotional bases

Israelis purifying the water of the Ganges in India. A rabbi putting down stakes in Montana. Survivors of the Holocaust making a new life together in Communist Hungary.

Most of the 14 films showing this month and next at the JCC Rockland’s Jewish Film Festival take place far from home.
Rockland Women’s Circle invites ‘Becoming Eve’ author Abby Stein

“Empowering Women Through Unity and Philanthropy,” a conversation with Abby Stein, author of “Becoming Eve: My Journey from Ultra-Orthodox Rabbi to Transgender Woman,” is set for Wednesday, March 25, at 7 p.m., at a private home in Upper Saddle River. The Holocaust Museum & Center for Tolerance and Education in Rockland is hosting the Women’s Circle event, which includes dinner.
COMMUNITY CALENDAR
Tuesday, Mar 3, 5:30PM-9:45PM
Beth Am Temple, Pearl River
Saturday, Mar 7, 7:30PM-10PM
Montebello Jewish Center
Sunday, Mar 8, 1:00PM-3:00PM
JCC Rockland
Sunday, Mar 8, 7:0PM-9:00PM
Congregation Sons of Israel, Nyack
Enjoy the sounds, costumes, fun of Purim at Beth Am Temple
Monday, Mar 9, 7:00PM-9:00PM
Beth Am Temple, Pearl River
Tuesday, Mar 10, 5:30PM-9:45PM
Beth Am Temple, Pearl River
Tuesday, Mar 17, 5:30PM-9:45PM
Beth Am Temple, Pearl River
Mar 23 - Mar 29
Paris, Riga
Tuesday, Mar 24, 5:30PM-9:45PM
Beth Am Temple, Pearl River
JCC Rockland Film Festiva l : Hate Among Us
Sunday, Mar 29, 7:30PM
Regal Cinemas
Tuesday, Mar 31, 5:30PM-9:45PM
Beth Am Temple, Pearl River
Tuesday, Mar 31, 7:30PM
Regal Cinemas
Stay connected