Join us! The live webinar includes the recording of the workshop.

Joanne Twombly

Perpetrator Identified Parts,
Non-Verbal Communication and EMDR:
What Every Therapist Should Know

Friday, Oct 22, 2021
11:00 am - 3:20 pm ET

10:00 am - 2:20 pm CT
9:00 am - 1:20 pm MT
8:00 am - 12:20 pm PT
12:00 pm - 4:20 pm AT
5:00 pm - 9:20 pm CEST

With your order of the livestream webinar, you will also receive the recording for 30 days. 4 EMDRIA Credits and 4 CEs are provided. There is no quiz required..
With your order of the recording only, you will have 30 days to view the workshop. There will be a brief quiz to complete if you wish to receive 4 EMDRIA Credits. No CEs are provided.
Have you ever had a trauma client who was great at getting under your skin? Or where you and the client got into repetitive struggles, you found yourself falling asleep, or beginning to day dream? Or where important discussions during sessions don’t seem to lead anywhere?

This talk will demystify some of these situations through discussion of various styles of non-verbal communication including countertransference/transference patterns and the concepts of projective identification and reenactment. Through a combination of didactic presentation, demonstration, case examples, and learning an IFS style exercise, participants will learn to sort out, identify their responses to, and develop a useful road map for decoding, working with, and eventually resolving clinical material from clients for whom the non-verbal is a necessary and meaningful mode of communication. EMDR strategies for resource development and treatment will be discussed, along with discussion of when EMDR is contraindicated.
Learning objectives Participants will be able to:

1) Identify common countertransference patterns.
2) Identify different kinds of perpetrator parts.
3) Describe enactments and common countertransference struggles
4) Develop resources and treatment strategies using EMDR
5) Learn to unlock countertransference reactions through an Internal Family Systems practice.*

*No Internal Family Systems (IFS) training necessary.
11-11:15 Introduction
11:15 - 11:30 Perpetrator Parts
11:30- 11:45 Identification of Therapists’ Perpetrator Parts
11:45- 12 Attachment
12 – 12:15 Karpman Drama Triangle
12:15- 12:30 Projective Identification and Resources, EMDR
12:30-12:40 (10 min) Break
12:40 – 12:55 Non-verbal communication, Shame
12:55- 1:10 Reenactments, and dealing with them
1:10-1:25 Telehealth, Energy, and Countertransference/Transference Patterns
1:25-1:40 Continued
1:40-1:55 Therapists’ attachment patterns in relationship with Client attachment patterns
1:55 – 2:05 (10 min) Break
2:05-2:20 EMDR with countertransference
2:20-2:35 IFS with countertransference
2:35-2:50 Demo
2:50-3:05 Practicum
3:05-3:20 Questions and discussion
Joanne H. Twombly, LICSW, MSW is in private practice in Arlington, MA. She specializes in C-PTSD and Dissociative Disorders, provides trainings and consultation. She has written on EMDR and Dissociative Disorders, EMDR and Internal Family Systems, and on working with Perpetrator Introjects. Her commitment to providing clients healing has resulted in her becoming a HAP Facilitator, an EMDR Consultant, Internal Family Systems Certified, and an American Society for Clinical Hypnosis Consultant. She is past president of the New England Society of Trauma and Dissociation, and served on various International Society for the Study of Trauma and Dissociation committees and the board. She received ISSTD's Distinguished Achievement Award, and is an ISSTD Fellow.
Be Inspired.
- Inspired Therapy's mission -

To serve and support psychotherapists and their clients 
by providing innovative, advanced clinical trainings
focused on healing trauma's wounds, 
& by fostering the growth of a vibrant professional network.
Cheryl Kenn LCSW, EMDRIA Credit Provider #17007 maintains responsibility for this program and its content in accordance with EMDRIA Standards.
Provider approvals
Certificates are awarded online after completion of the workshop by ce-GO
Questions? contact: Inspired Therapy ~ Cheryl Kenn LCSW