Children's Fiction
Other Words for Home
by Jasmine Warga

Submitted by Stefanie M.
This is a gorgeous novel written in verse about Jude, a young girl who moves with her mother to the United States to flee her hometown in Syria as it becomes increasingly violent. Jude has always been obsessed with American movies, but she soon finds out that the America of her dreams is far from reality. She must grapple with the label “Middle Eastern” and prejudice from her peers, but she also learns a lot about friendship, hope, and pushing herself out of her comfort zone. This book should be required reading about the immigrant experience for everyone from young to old. 
(Children’s Fiction)
Chasing Secrets
by Gennifer Choldenko

Submitted by Kelly K.
For the 9-12 year old reader, or anyone, this is a mysterious historical fiction by the author of the  Al Capone/Tales from Alcatraz series, Gennifer Choldenko.  13-year-old Lizzie Kennedy is puzzled by what’s been happening in San Francisco’s Chinatown – is there a plague? She takes it upon herself to find out, and perseveres in spite of many challenges. A great adventure full of secrets, friendship, and truth.
(Children’s Audiobook)
Birdie
by Eileen Spinelli

Submitted by Stefanie M.
This book is all about change and how it can sometimes be a good thing. Birdie is twelve years old, she is obsessed with birds, and she has been dealing with the loss of her dad, who was a firefighter killed in the line of duty. Written in verse, this story follows Birdie as she learns how to grieve, navigates her first crush, and learns to accept that her mom has a new man in her life. Both hilarious and heavy simultaneously, this is a good choice for those who are grieving themselves, or learning how to deal with change.
(Children’s Fiction)
Nevermoor:
The Trials of Morrigan Crow
by Jessica Townsend

Submitted by Stefanie M.
Morrigan Crow is a cursed child. Everyone in the town of Jackalfax blames her for all of their problems and grievances, all because she was born on the worst day she could have possibly been born, Eventide. Because of this, Morrigan is doomed to die at the strike of midnight, but a man named Jupiter North miraculously arrives to whisk her away to a magical place unknown to the rest of the world called Nevermoor. Even better, he has chosen her as his candidate to join the Wundrous Society, where she will have to compete in four taxing trials before she is allowed in. One of the trials requires her to showcase her knack, or a special talent that everyone who is admitted into the Wundrous Society must have, but she has no idea what her knack is. Will she figure it out and make it safely into the Wundrous Society, avoiding her fate as a cursed child? This is a perfect read for fans of Harry Potter and there’s even a sequel if you can’t get enough of this whimsical world. Recommended for grades 5 and up.
(Children’s Series)
The Chicken Squad:
The First Misadventure
by Doreen Cronin

Submitted by Emily D.
As soon as I saw this book I knew I had to read it because 1. I love chickens and 2. I love a good mystery. This book did not disappoint. It was silly and fun and enjoyable. Readers will love these characters. A great early chapter book for new readers.
(Children’s Series Books)
Catwad
by Jim Benton

Submitted by Emily D.
Fans of Garfield and Grumpy Cat will enjoy the newest grouchy cat in town. Catwad is cranky but his “best friend” always looks on the bright side. This pair makes for a funny duo in this collection of short comic stories.
(J Graphic Novels)
Dear Evan Hansen (The Novel)
by Val Emmich, Steven Levenson,
Benj Pasek, & Justin Paul

Submitted by Kelly K.
A young adult novel based on the play from the show’s creators, this book will answer some questions that may linger, but it also delves more fully into the thoughts and problems of the characters, particularly Connor. Not to provide a full spoiler, the book resounds with authentic teen angst and dealing with depression and anxiety, being heard and recognized versus being ignored and invisible, the trials of both high school life and family life. Reading this makes one feel you are not alone with a multitude of everyday issues that can be isolating, especially for teens. This is great reading also for parents of teens, as true emotions are brought to light through listening to Evan’s voice, providing a reminder to pay attention.
(Teen Collection)
Children's Non-Fiction



Born Just Right
by Jordan Reeves & Jen Lee Reeves

Submitted by Katie B.
A great read for children and teens growing up in a world where disabilities aren't always considered "normal." It gives great insight into the world of disabilities and limb differences. The story details many aspects of Jordan's life that can inspire young and old alike. 
(Children’s Non-Fiction)
The Sound of Silence: Growing Up Hearing with Deaf Parents
by Myron Uhlberg

Submitted by Katie B.
This is a wonderful memoir about the hearing child of deaf parents. Translating for his father renders Myron an adult, but as soon as it is over he returns to being a child. Yet, he's still a child, climbing buildings, escaping bullies, and playing in the neighborhood. Myron not only interprets, but his father often asked him to describe sounds to him, like thunder, wind, waves: “‘Wet like waves!’ I finally signed. ‘Waves sound like a billion water drops breaking apart when they smack down on the hard sand, all the tiny sounds joining to make one great sound. A wet, falling ocean sound,’ I added desperately.” Wonderful story, highly recommended!
(New Children’s Non-Fiction)  
Dear America: The Story of an Undocumented Citizen
by Jose Antonio Vargas

Submitted by Katie B.
Philippino immigrant, Jose Antonio Vargas, had no idea he was in America illegally until he was 16 years old. His moment of enlightenment came when he handed his green card to a lady at a desk at the DMV. Up until this moment his entire family had kept his illegal status a secret, even from him. This book was so inspiring in all the best ways. It’s a short, easy read and really opened my eyes to some of the less obvious situations our country’s immigrants (those who came here legally and otherwise) go through every day. Loved it!
(New Children’s Non-Fiction)  
Summer Reading Program
"Read S'More Books"

Babies, kids, and teens will earn amazing prizes for reaching weekly reading goals. Adults can set their own reading goals and will be entered into weekly prize drawings and a grand prize drawing. New this summer, read for bonus weeks 7 and 8 for additional chances to win great prizes.

The last day to pick up prizes is August 9. The program is sponsored in large part by donations from area businesses. We greatly appreciate the support. Check out our newsletter for a complete list of donors.

For more weekly fun, come to the library and participate in our scavenger hunts for all ages. You never know what you'll find or what you'll learn!