In This Issue:
  • President's Welcome Message
  • Past President's Message
  • New Board Members
  • Governmental Affairs Committee Update
  • Public Policy Committee Update
  • Award Winners
  • Resident Congrats & Welcome
Hello KCHP Members! 

I hope you all had a warm and safe July 4th Holiday! It has been two months since our Annual Meeting and the beginning of our new year and much has been happening behind the scenes. If you were unable to attend our Annual Meeting, I invite you review my Presidential Speech which includes our top three priorities for this year. Our Board of Directors held a (half virtual) strategic planning meeting two weeks ago and will have an updated strategic plan out to you in early August. I don’t want to spoil the announcement, but expect a new recognition for our members, a new section to support our clinicians, and continued focus on creating a home for Kansas pharmacists and pharmacy technicians. I look forward to sharing our plan with you soon!

- Kat 
Katherine Miller, PharmD, MHA, FASHP
Last year, I spoke about being transformative as an organization. Who knew we would have so many opportunities to do so? When I reflect on the past twelve months, I am amazed at what our organization has accomplished in light of many distractions.

We continued to offer high caliber educational activities. Each one of our conferences saw growth in participation. The Rural Health Summit was so well attended that it was moved from Salina Regional to a hotel to accommodate the numbers. We continued to support the Technician Conference, Preceptor Bootcamp, and Pharmacy Forecast Workshop with SSHP. Our education team took the initiative to start the KCHP online journal club. This was a great transformational step for our organization as we all become more comfortable in the “virtual world”. This also helped us to be prepared to transform our Spring Meeting into a virtual event with little time for preparation. Many state pharmacy organizations cancelled their spring meetings, but with the will and perseverance of the Education Committee, MSHP and our management partners, KCHP was able to pull off a remarkably successful event. We had a large audience from Kansas and Missouri, and also several national and international participants.

KCHP also initiated a weekly COVID-19 Zoom meeting to share ideas on several issues including staffing, clinical approach and drug shortages. This was a great utilization of our membership talents and I think some up-and-coming leaders have been identified.

This year’s strategic planning focused on KCHP communication to members in regards to governmental affairs and increasing membership engagement. I hope you have appreciated the increased frequency of information regarding governmental affairs topics. We have also started a new Membership Task Force to focus on providing meaningful contact and purpose to our members. Our communications committee has worked hard to increase our social media presence and provide meaningful content. The mentor/mentee program has transformed into the new PEARLS program that is off to a fantastic start. The AmCare section continues to work on opportunities to assist the ambulatory care practitioners of KCHP.

KCHP continued to work with many valuable partners throughout the year, including the Kansas Board of Pharmacy, the Kansas Hospital Association, Kansas Pharmacists Association, The University of Kansas School of Pharmacy, SSHP, and ASHP. We are grateful for their continued generosity and collaboration.

Special thanks go out to the KCHP Board Members and the many members who gave their time on committees. The year would not have been as successful without the hard work this group of people donated to our organization. I would like to thank the KCHP membership for giving me the opportunity to serve the health-system pharmacy family in the state of Kansas. I am thankful for the chance I have been given to work with so many talented individuals and made so many friendships. This has been an experience that has given more to me than I could have ever imagined.

Warm 100 degree regards,

Joe D. Slechta, PharmD, FASHP, BCPS-AQ Cardiology
Congratulations and Welcome to the 2020-2021 KCHP Board of Directors!

  • President – Kat Miller 
  • Past President – Joe Slechta 
  • President-Elect – Carolyn Huninghake 
  • Treasurer – Katie Wilson 
  • Director of Education – Brian Gilbert 
  • Director of Governmental Affairs – Chris Loucks 
  • District 1 Director – Megan Ohrlund 
  • District 2 Director – Chris Lawrenz 
  • District 3 Director – Kelsie Hundley 
  • Technician Representative – Vanessa Elliot 
  • SSHP Representative – Sydney Markey 
KCHP would like to welcome two new members to the Kansas Board of Pharmacy. Erick Axcell is the owner of Jayhawk Pharmacy in Lawrence. Andrew Truong is a pharmacy manager with Walgreens Community Pharmacy in Wichita. The term for the new Board members will run until 4/30/2024 and both will be eligible for reappointment. KCHP looks forward to working with the new Board members to strengthen health system pharmacy practice in the state of Kansas.  
The three Kansas delegates, Jeff Little , Jennifer McKenna , and Kat Miller , all participated in ASHP’s 72nd meeting of the House of Delegates in June. Due to COVID, this was a virtual meeting for the first time in the history of the House. The Delegates considered and ultimately passed 17 policy recommendations. 13 of these were amended on the floor of the house. Additionally, two new business items were deliberated and passed through the House. Information on the final policies and the policy making process can be found here . Thank you to the members who participated in the policy committee calls prior to the House to help the Delegates know how the membership felt about the policies being discussed. 
The KCHP Foundation shows great support for pharmacists and technicians working in Kansas. This year the KCHP Foundation Board selected to honor the following individuals for their outstanding contributions to the practice of pharmacy in Kansas: 
Congratulations to our 2020 KCHP Award Recipients! 

  • Student of the Year – Anthony Batiz, PharmD Candidate 2022 
  • Technician of the Year – Patty McCombs, CPhT 
  • Volunteer of the Year – Sydney Archer, PharmD, BCCCP 
  • Emerging Leader – Brian Gilbert, PharmD, BCPS, BCCCP 
  • Pharmacist of the Year – Jeff Little, PharmD, MPH, BCPS, FACHE, FASHP 
  • Legacy Award – Linda Radke, PharmD, FASHP 
  • Innovation Award – The University of Kansas Health System - Jareb Stallbaumer, PharmD & Carly Brown, PharmD, BCPS 
  • Development of Clinical Surgical Team

Poster Awards
The following awards were given for excellent poster presentations: 

Original Research – Kristen Farnet, PharmD Candidate & Joann Moore, PharmD 
  • Medication Patch Use Policy Evaluation 

Encore – Thomas “Mason” Williams, PharmD Candidate & Cambrey Nguyen, PharmD 
  • Accuracy and Completeness of Drug Information Collected from Google Snippets 

Student Research – Chloe Ortbals, PharmD Candidate & Frank Fanizza, PharmD, BCACP 
  • Evaluation of a Pharmacist-Guided Antimicrobial Stewardship Program on Antibiotic Prescribing Rates in a Suburban Internal Medicine Clinic 
Congratulations to our graduating residents of 2020! We are proud of all of your accomplishments this past year and wish you the best of luck! Welcome to our incoming Kansas residents for 2020-2021! 
Kansas Council of Health-System Pharmacy (KCHP)
p: 314-416-2247 | f: 314-892-1891 | E: |