October 24, 2018
Breland re-elected as
PERS State Employee Representative

Kelly Breland, director of the Bureau of Administration for the Mississippi Department of Mental Health, has been re-elected to serve as one of the two state employee representatives on the Public Employees’ Retirement System of Mississippi (PERS) Board of Trustees.

Breland, who is currently serving as board chair, ran against Ryan Blakeney, a deputy director with the Mississippi Insurance Department, for the six-year term that runs from January 1, 2019, to December 31, 2024. Election results were certified by the Board at its October 23 meeting.

The 10-member PERS Board includes the state Treasurer, a gubernatorial appointee who is a member of PERS, two retirees, two state employees, and one representative each of public schools and community colleges/junior colleges, Institutions of Higher Learning, counties, and municipalities. With the exception of the state Treasurer and the gubernatorial appointee, board members are elected to staggered six-year terms.

For more information about PERS, visit www.pers.ms.gov .
Know someone who might enjoy getting updates like this one?
If you know someone who might enjoy receiving news and updates from PERS, please forward this message and encourage him or her to sign up! Thank you!