Meet the Judges
Dr. Karen Fosheim
Our newest judge this year, Dr. Karen Fosheim, is Interim Chair of the Department of Music at Delta State University in Cleveland, MS. She teaches a variety of music courses, including piano, and is co-director of the Community Drumming Ensemble at DSU. An active performer, Dr. Fosheim has appeared as a soloist and collaborative pianist in the U.S. and Mexico. Dr. Fosheim is active in several organizations and is currently President-Elect of the Southern Chapter of the College Music Society. In addition, she has been a presenter and adjudicator for the College Music Society, Mississippi Music Teacher’s Association, Mississippi Music Educators Association, MENC: National Association for Music Education, and the Pianist Foundation of America.
Dr. J.D. Kelly
Dr. Kelly began his career in 1956, spending 23 years as Professor of Piano and Coordinator of Piano Activities at Arkansas State University, where he is Professor Emeritus - Piano. Dr. Kelly estimates he has taught more than 3,000 piano students, and it's common to hear them speak of him with respect, admiration, and appreciation. He continues to perform and maintains an active schedule as an adjudicator. Dr. Kelly was inducted into the Amro Music Educators Walk of Fame on June 22, 2013.
Mrs. Janice Lumpkin
Mrs. Lumpkin is a member of the Music Teachers National Associaion (MTNA), Tennessee Music Teachers Association (TMTA), and the Greater Memphis Music Teachers Association (GMMTA) where she served as President in 2014. Janice was chosen as GMMTA Teacher of the Year and Amro Music's Teacher of the Year in 2015. She currently teaches piano lessons out of her home. We are thrilled to have Mrs. Lumpkin join us again as one of our festival judges.
Dr. Sharon Momany
Dr. Momany is a music educator with a variety of interests. She is currently adjunct faculty at Southwest Tennessee Community College, teaches privately, adjudicates, and conducts research concerning piano pedagogy. Dr. Momany serves as a clinician and is a member of the Germantown Symphony Orchestra. She is also the Children's Music Ministry Director at All Saints' Episcopal Church.