There are only a few days left to log your Kids Choice and Monarch reading with the library!

Don't miss out on our private party this Saturday at Bella's Bouncies for readers who complete the program.

Log your books in person or online before Friday, March 1st to guarantee your jumper's spot!
ADULT | ADULT OFFERINGS
February 27th, 7:00 p.m.

Love to share what you’re reading and hear what other readers are as well?  Are you curious as to what the library staff is reading?  Looking for suggestions on what to read or listen to next?  

Join us for a new “sort of” book club! No assigned books to read, just lively conversation with library staff and fellow readers about the latest book news, trends, new releases and staff and patron favorites.

February 28th, 7:00 p.m.

The Lake County Circuit Court Clerk’s Office will provide an overview of Civil court e-Filing and demonstrate how to submit a filing.

There will be a Q&A to help you navigate the process.


March 3rd, 1:00 p.m.

Enjoy a beautiful blend of traditional Irish vocals and instrumentals by the Irish Rogues Duo.

Your Irish eyes will be smiling!

Join a book club!

Beyond Fiction
Monday, March 4th, 7 p.m.
The Firebrand and the First Lady
- Patricia Bell Scott

Clue: Mystery Book Club
Friday, March 8th, 10 a.m.
The Secret, Book, and Scone Society
- Ellery Adams

Books are available for check out at the Adult Help Desk.
TEEN/TWEEN | TEEN AND TWEEN PROGRAMS

March 5th, 4:00 p.m.
Grades 6-8

From tinkering to technology, these programs offer a different hands-on activity for your inquisitive mind. 

March: Design Your Own Iron On

KID CITY | CHILDREN'S PROGRAMS

February 28th, 10:00 a.m.
Birth - 24 Months

Yoga is a relaxing way to connect with your baby. Learn poses and
techniques for you and baby.
Please bring a yoga mat or towel to class.

COMMUNITY | AROUND WAUCONDA
March 2nd
Coast Guard Boating Safety Class
Ages 13 and older.

Join the US Coast Guard Auxiliary for a comprehensive boating safety class.
Please bring a sack lunch for a half hour lunch break.
You will receive a certificate of successful completion and may be eligible for discounts on your boating insurance.
Register to Vote

The Consolidated Election is coming up on April 2, 2019.

If you aren't already registered to vote , you can register to vote with a registrar at the library.

Check our website for more information.
WELL READ | BOOKS WE LOVE
The Library at the Edge of the World
by Felicity Hayes-McCoy

Submitted by Terri S.
Winter Book Escape #1: Finfarren – a fictitious seaside Irish hamlet. This is a captivating contemporary read with a charming cast of characters and an utterly enchanting storyline. I enjoyed the book in audio format – such a great listen, providing a welcome distraction and escape from this seemingly endless winter. This is the first in a series and I can’t wait to listen to the sequel – Summer at the Garden Café.  Patrick Taylor and Maive Binchy fans, and anyone who enjoys a solidly written cozy, should enjoy.
(Adult Fiction)

The Lighthouse Keeper's Daughter
by Hazel Gaynor

Submitted by Terri S.
Winter Book Escape #2: Longstone Lighthouse on the Farne Islands, Northumberland, England, 1838, and a lighthouse on the rocky coast of Newport, Rhode Island 100 years later. A beautiful, spellbinding novel with an unforgettable tale of love at its core.  This mesmerizing book had my heart from the beginning. 
Audio format is pure ear candy. 

Fans of Martha Hall Kelly’s Lilac Girls and Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale are sure to enjoy.
(Adult Fiction)

The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate
by Jacqueline Kelly

Submitted by Kelly K.
Amazing middle-grade book that brings back pleasures of a more simple time – the kind of classic book some of us were lucky enough to read as children (think Caddie Woodlawn and The Penderwicks ). 11 year-old Calpurnia becomes best buddies with her grandfather and her world opens up. This is just a delightful exploration of a year in the life of a child and the wisdom she gains as she becomes more aware of her surroundings and place in the world. Great for any age reader! 
(Newbery Honor 2010) 

The Remarkable Journey of Coyote Sunrise
by Dan Gemeinhart

Submitted by Stefanie M.
Coyote Sunrise and her father, Rodeo Sunrise (yes, those are their real names) are nomads. They live in a school bus named Yager that has been converted into a makeshift apartment, and they’ve spent the last five years traveling around the country, with the open road as their home. You see, Coyote lost her mother and two sisters in a car crash, and it’s much easier for her and Rodeo to keep moving forward rather than dwelling on the past. One day, while checking in with her grandmother, Coyote discovers that the park in her old neighborhood where her and her sisters buried a special memory box is scheduled to be demolished, and she is absolutely devastated. Determined to get back to that park, Coyote does whatever she can to convince Rodeo to keep driving toward home, and the friends and memories they make on that journey might even be just as meaningful as the ones that live in the box she’s so desperately trying to retrieve. A heartfelt road-tripping story for fans of Kate DiCamillo’s Louisiana’s Way Home or Sharon Creech’s Walk Two Moons --this is a page turner you won’t soon forget.
(Children’s Fiction)