For Immediate Release | October 24, 2022
Media Contact: 
AcQueena Grant, Director of Communications
Phone: 225-308-4415
Email address:
LCTCS Announces Finalists for Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College Chancellor Position
Public Forums Also Announced
BATON ROUGE, LA - Today, the Louisiana Community and Technical College System (LCTCS) announced the finalists for the position of chancellor of Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College (NLTCC). The announcement comes after a competitive and comprehensive nationwide search. The search process began in April 2022 and produced a diverse pool of highly qualified applicants. 

Each finalist will participate in separate public forums with students, faculty, staff, and community members. The forums will be held in person in the multipurpose room at the NLTCC Minden campus on Wednesday, November 2. The college community is strongly encouraged to participate in the public forums. The full public forum schedule is provided below.

Finalists in alphabetical order: 
Dr. Lawrence D. Brandyburg possesses over 27 years of experience in higher education. Prior to his appointment as Interim President of Bishop State Community College, Dr. Brandyburg began his higher education career at Lone Star College System in Houston, Texas which serves more than 80,000 students per year. He has served in various leadership roles within instructional, student success, and student support divisions. Dr. Brandyburg was founding Vice President of Instruction & Student Success at Lone Star College-University Park in 2012 and has also lead in an international capacity as CEO of Lone Star College-Jakarta.

Dr. Bryan Renfro currently works as the Vice President of Academic Instruction at Paris Junior College in Paris, Texas. Previously, Dr. Renfro served in various academic affairs leadership roles, including the Associate Vice Provost of Academic and Workforce Affairs at Tyler Junior College in Tyler, Texas. He was also the Dean of Business and Public Services at Hawkeye Community College in Waterloo, Iowa. Dr. Renfro began his career in community colleges serving as faculty and department chair of Criminal Justice and Anthropology at Northwest Arkansas Community College, where he also served as the founding director of NWACC's Institute of Corporate and Public Safety.

Dr. Jayda Spillers serves as the Vice Chancellor of Academic and Student Affairs at Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College (NLTCC). Her academic career has spanned 27 years across Oklahoma, Texas, and Louisiana at secondary and post-secondary levels of instruction in business education and administration. During her time as Vice Chancellor of NLTCC, she has increased dual enrollment, industry-based certification, and credential attainment by students across the three campuses. She has also successfully lead efforts in the initial SACSCOC credentialing process.

Dr. Jerry Thomas is a United States Army veteran. He serves as the Vice President for Student Affairs and Enrollment Management at National Park College in Hot Springs, Arkansas. Previously, he was the Assistant Vice President for Student Affairs at Thomas Edison State University in Trenton, New Jersey. Employed at Southern Arkansas University (SAU), Magnolia, Arkansas, from 1993 to 2013, Dr. Thomas served in various student affairs positions and maintained an adjunct instructor position teaching U.S. History courses at the university. 


Wednesday, November 2, 2022
Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College
Minden Campus, Multipurpose Room
9500 Industrial Dr, Minden, LA 71055

12:00 PM - 12:45 PM - Dr. Lawrence D. Brandyburg
1:00 PM - 1:45 PM - Dr. Bryan Renfro
2:00 PM - 2:45 PM - Dr. Jayda Spillers
3:00 PM - 3:45 PM - Dr. Jerry Thomas
Address: 265 South Foster Drive
Baton Rouge, LA 70806
Phone Number: (225) 922-2800