Long Island Swimming Officials Association  
Serving Long Island Swimmers and Divers since 1957
 February 2020
You are the Salt of the Earth!

The expression is Biblical in origin and it is believed that the use of ‘salt’ in the expression is a reference to the value of salt, which was quite a valued commodity back then. In ancie nt times valued workers were sometimes paid with salt.

People who are described as 'the salt of the earth' are those who are considered to be of great worth and reliability.

Well, I consider each of you the "salt of the earth" as I have gotten to know you as a swimming official! I can't imagine a more dedicated, competent group of officials. Your positive attitude and professionalism is exceptional.

This season was a pleasure for me to work with you and I know that, the 24 of you that will be working at the New York State Boy's Swimming Championships, will make us all proud. The end of season banquet, chaired by Jane Reilly, will be a fitting celebration of our outstanding 2019-2020 season.

Thank you,
George Fleckenstein
The Section VIII Boy's Swimming County Championship Finals officials.
LISOA Meeting Dates

March 10, 2020  - Annual Recognition Dinner Meeting Dominico's Restaurant .

Active members are required to attend  a minimum of three (3) meetings and/or clinics . As prescribed in Article I of the By-Laws,  attendance at a rules interpretation meeting is required.
Things Every Diving Judge Should Know...

...while there are many aspects to being a good diving judge, knowledge of the rules is paramount. Knowing the rules regarding the five elements of all dives (starting position, approach, takeoff, flight and positions, and entry into the water) is essential to being a competent diving judge. It is important for diving judges to review the diving guidelines and/or silhouettes frequently.   
2020 Boys Swimming & Diving Championships
March 6: Swimming Warm-Up & Preliminaries; ALL Diving
March 7: Meet Warm-Up & Finals

Doors Open at 9:00 am Both Days 

TICKETS:  $8 Online  | $10 On-Site
Tuesday, March 10
7:00 pm - 9:30 p.m.

Caesar or Garden Salad

Choice of:
Rigatoni Vodka
Chicken Parmesan
Eggplant Parmesan
Grilled Chicken
Sole Francaise
Veal Parmesan

Unlimited Domestic Beer, Wine, Soda

Guest Speaker – Gary Brown
former Green Bay Packer and Brentwood H.S. graduate
Raffle Auctions

Raffle Tickets
$20.00 for 20; $10.00 for 6
50/50 tickets - $5.00

No charge for LISOA members
$55.00 for your spouse or guest

Please contact Jane Reilly with your attendance plans.
ReillyZ4@verizon.net  or TEXT 516 459-3787.
Our Officials in the Post-Season
  1. In March the sun crosses the celestial equator and the day and night are of equal length. What is this phenomenon called?
  2. In Shakespeare's Julius Caesar what does the 'Ides of March' refer to?
  3. Which of these is a western zodiac sign associated with March?


All swimming officials must remember their primary purposes when on deck. Officials shall conduct the meet in a professional manner, assure compliance with the NFHS rules and assure that no competitor has an unfair advantage. Officials shall remain mindful of the inherent risk of injury that competition poses to student athletes. Where appropriate, they shall inform event management of conditions or situations that appear unreasonably hazardous.

Quiz Answers

1. Equinox 2. 15th March 3. Pisces
The purpose and goals of the LISOA and its members shall be to:   
  • Officiate all meets in a competent and professional manner.
  • Have its members actively work to improve interscholastic swimming and diving officiating.
  • Provide a consistent interpretation and administration of interscholastic swimming and diving rules.
  • Service and collaborate with the swimming and diving community for the improvement of swimming and diving.
George Fleckenstein
Vice President:
Ray Willie
Chris Zimmet
Barbara Wendt
Doug Virkus
Larry Wachter
Rules Interpreter:
Bob Kersch
Past President:
Frank Dowd

Charlie Schlegal
George Columbo
Jim McAllister
Dick Atwater
Jack Reilly
Frank Krayer
NYSCSO Distinguished Service Award Members

Jim McAllister (2019)
Doug Virkus (2011)
Mush Masters (2008)
Pete Moeschen (2004)
Stan Adler (1993)
Bob Kersch (1990)