January 11, 2017

News & Updates
Don't forget to keep reading those Abe Lincoln books. When you finish reading any of the 2016-17 titles, hop over to www.rdhslibrary.org/abe to post a comment about the book. You can also read what other students are saying about the titles on the list .

Remember, you need to read 4 of the 20 titles on the Abe Lincoln 2016-17 list and leave comments for each one you've read in order to receive recognition in the program. And, you'll be able to vote for the winner of the Abe Lincoln Readers' Choice Award. Comments are due by March 13, 2017.

If you'd like to read more about the program or which titles are on the list, click here.
Regina Retro

Yearbook: 1981
Original Caption: Varsity Cheerleading


Visit the RDHS Yearbook Archive by clicking here.
YouTube Pick of the Week

Magazines

This week's magazines are available on the coffee table in the LRC.


Books

All the Bright Places (2015) by Jennifer Niven

Call Number:  FIC Niven
Availability: click  here

***Abe Lincoln Book Award***

Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning!
 
Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.
 
Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister's recent death.
 
When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it's unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the "natural wonders" of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It's only with Violet that Finch can be himself-a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who's not such a freak after all. And it's only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet's world grows, Finch's begins to shrink.
 
This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven. 
--
Goodreads

more details on All the Bright Places...


Eleanor & Park (2013) by Rainbow Rowell

Call Number: FIC Rowell
Availability: click here

Two misfits.
One extraordinary love.

Eleanor . . . Red hair, wrong clothes. Standing behind him until he turns his head. Lying beside him until he wakes up. Making everyone else seem drabber and flatter and never good enough...Eleanor.

Park . . . He knows she'll love a song before he plays it for her. He laughs at her jokes before she ever gets to the punch line. There's a place on his chest, just below his throat, that makes her want to keep promises...Park.

Set over the course of one school year, this is the story of two star-crossed sixteen-year-olds-smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try. 
-- Goodreads

more details on Eleanor & Park...


Egg & Spoon (2014) by  Gregory Maguire
 
Call Number:  FIC Maguire
Availability: click  here

***Abe Lincoln Book Award***

A fantasy set in Tsarist Russia.

Elena Rudina lives in the impoverished Russian countryside. Her father has been dead for years. One of her brothers has been conscripted into the Tsar's army, the other taken as a servant in the house of the local landowner. Her mother is dying, slowly, in their tiny cabin. And there is no food. But then a train arrives in the village, a train carrying untold wealth, a cornucopia of food, and a noble family destined to visit the Tsar in Saint Petersburg - a family that includes Ekaterina, a girl of Elena's age. When the two girls' lives collide, an adventure is set in motion, an escapade that includes mistaken identity, a monk locked in a tower, a prince traveling incognito, and - in a starring role only Gregory Maguire could have conjured - Baba Yaga, witch of Russian folklore, in her ambulatory house perched on chicken legs.  -- Goodreads

more details on Egg & Spoon...

RDHS | Library Resource Center
 (847) 256-7660 | aapo@rdhs.org