LSU Department of Physics & Astronomy Professor Gabriela González has been named one of the top 10 scientists in the world by the scientific journal Nature.

González serves as the spokesperson for the 1,000-member international LIGO Scientific Collaboration. LIGO, which stands for the Laser Interferometer Gravitational-wave Observatory, detected the gravitational waves in 2015 predicted by Albert Einstein's Theory of General Relativity, and opened a new window of discovery to the cosmos.

In addition to being named among the world's top 10 scientists by Nature, González was named Scientist of the Year by Great Minds in STEM, and one of the top 100 Leading Global Thinkers by Foreign Policy magazine for the LIGO Scientific Collaboration. More

Aerial view of LIGO Livingsto
Year in Review

Take A Look Back at Some
of the
Top Stories of 2016

From proving a century old theory to reimagining some of the world's most iconic photos of scientists in Antarctica, this has been a breakthrough year for the  LSU College of Science. As we wrap up the first month of 2017, let's take a moment to look back on some of the outstanding research and cutting-edge discoveries to come out of the college last year.   > More

LSU Museum of Natural Science Curator
Chris Austin

Scientists Discover a Way to Sequence DNA of Rare Animals

LSU Museum of Natural Science Curator and Professor Christopher Austin and his collaborator Rutgers-Newark Assistant Professor Sara Ruane developed a protocol and tested a method for DNA sequencing thousands of genes from these intractable snake specimens. Their research has been published in the international scientific journal Molecular Ecology Resources.  > More

More News & Events:
  • Register now for the CxC Faclty Learning Communities! The CxC FLCs are small, interdisciplinary groups for faculty interested in exploring, reflecting on, and discussing topics surrounding communication-intensive teaching and learning; connecting with peers equally committed to teaching, service, and research; and building collaborative relationships across disciplines. The registration deadline is Thursday, January 26th. Register here!  
  • LSU Museum of Natural Science continues Night at the Museum.
  • TEDxLSU is almost here! Mark your calendars for TEDxLSU 2017, Saturday, March 11th in the LSU Union Theater. This year's speakers include a diverse group of thinkers from the Baton Rouge community including Cynthia Peterson, dean of the LSU College of Science; Gabriela González, astrophysicist and spokesperson for the LIGO Scientific Collaboration; and Wayne Newhauser, director of LSU's medical physics program. You can view the full list of TEDxLSU speakers here.

Mark Your Calendars!

On the Blog:

Lots of great posts on the of Science Blog. Take a look!  

Taby's Star: The Most Mysterious Star
in the Universe Needs You
Training Like "Rocky" for
Science Communication

Using Lasers and Nanoparticles
to Improve Drug Delivery

Q&A with LSU Seismologist
Patricia Persaud


Sue Brenner

Mette Gaarde

Ward Plummer

John Pojman

Bradley Schaeffer

Kenneth Schafer

Susanne Brenner, Nicholson Professor in the LSU Department of Mathematics has been nominated and selected to represent LSU for the  SEC Faculty Achievement Award this year. As part of this recognition, Brenner will receive a $5,000 award from the SEC and accompanying publicity.
LSU Department of Physics & Astronomy professors Mette Gaarde and Kenneth Schafer's publication "Macroscopic aspects of attosecond pulse generation" was recognized as one of the most influential papers published by the Journal of Physics. The paper was highlighted in connection with the journal's 50th anniversary publication. > More

Ward Plummer, professor in the LSU Department of Physics & Astronomy, is the 2016 recipient of the Award for International Scientific Cooperation of the Chinese Academy of Sciences. Other honorees are Professor Shavkat Salikhov of the Academy of Sciences of the Republic of Uzbekistan and Professor Deliang Chen of the University of Gothenburg, Sweden. > More
John Pojman, professor in the LSU Department of Chemistry will co-curate with Elizabeth Weinstein an exhibit on Polymers in Art that will be exhibited March 4 through June 4 at the Louisiana Art and Science Museum. The exhibit will range from Japanese lacquerware to 20th century materials such as acrylic paint and Lucite. Pojman is also working with the LASM staff to develop hands-on activities for children to make jewelry from the casein polymer milk.
Bradley Schaefer, professor in the LSU Department of Physics & Astronomy, has released a 24-lecture course in the Great Courses January catalog titled "The Remarkable Science of Ancient Astronomy." Through the series, Schaefer takes you inside a worldview that knew nothing of telescopes, stars, or galaxies, yet was able to chart and predict the movements of the heavens.
> More


Auturo Carranza, fall 2016 PhD graduate and Professor John Pojman
Carranza Wins Coates Outstanding Dissertation Award

Fall 2016 PhD graduate Auturo Carranza was awarded the 2016 Charles E. Coates Outstanding Dissertation Award in Chemistry for his dissertation "Deep-Eutectic Solvents as Delivery Vehicles in the Synthesis of Non-Aqueous High Internal Phase Emulsion Templated Functional Microporous Nanocomposites and their Application as Selective Fuel Sorbents and Tissue Scaffolds." Carranza's completed his work in the lab of Chemistry Professor John Pojman. His research has resulted in 10 publications, including seven based on his dissertation studies.

Support Research  
and Scholarship at LSU

Join the LSU College of Science 
Dean's Circle

The Dean's Circle (DC) is a loyal group of alumni and friends who share a passion for advancing research and scholarship at LSU. Our DC provides the working capital needed to fund pursuits of the college including scholarships for first-year students, student organizations and educational travel expenses, faculty recruitment and recognition activities, and development initiatives that build alumni and community relations.

Dean's Circle membership recognizes the generosity of alumni and friends who make annual gifts of $1,000 or more to the Science Development Fund. For a gift of $250, alumni who have graduated within the last ten years may also become members.
To join by mail, make your check payable to "LSU Foundation-Science Dean's Circle" and mail your check to:  LSU Foundation,  3838 West Lakeshore Drive,  Baton Rouge, LA  70808.

New Dean's Circle Members

The College of Science welcomes the newest members to the Dean's Circle, Thank you for your contribution to the teaching and research activities in the college:
  • Mr. Frank Auer, December 2016
  • Dr. Wesley Brockhoeft and Dr. Renee Favret, December 2016
  • Mrs. Latoya Bullard-Franklin, December 2016
  • Mr. and Mrs. Duncan MacKenzie III, December 2016
  • Mr. Robert and Mrs. Paula Gerdes, December 2016
  • Dr. Ann and Mr. Bennie Good, December 2016
  • Dr. Gary Grest, December 2016
  • Dr. Eugene Kennedy and Dr. Zakiya Wilson-Kennedy, December 2016 
  • Dr. Donald and Mrs. Janis Kniffen, December 2016
  • Dr. Stella Kim and Dr. Andrew Lee, December 2016
  • Mrs. Ruby Neely, December 2016
  • Dr. Larry and Mrs. Joan Page, December 2016
  • Dr. Brad and Mrs. Susan Patt, December 2016
  • Drs. Bryan and Marguerite Picou , December 2016  
  • Mr. John and Mrs. Faye Seaberg, December 2016
  • Dr. Frederick Rainey & Dr. Alanna Small, December 2016