ACTION ALERT REMINDER - Contact Your Senator to
Restore Funding to Individual and Family Support
& Families Helping Families

  

 

ACT NOW to Restore Funding the Senate Finance Committee CUT for  
Individual and Family Support & Families Helping Families.

 

The Senate Finance Committee met on Sunday to consider HB1 and REMOVED amendments added by the House for the Individual and Family Support Program and Families Helping Families. The funding to fill all vacant waiver slots and create 200 additional NOW slots remained in the budget.  We are still trying to confirm the status of funding for Louisiana Rehabilitation Services.  

 

HB1 will now move to the Senate Floor where it can be amended again.  It will be considered by the full Senate tomorrow -- Wednesday, May 28th.

 

If these services are important to you, there are two ways to take action!

 

1. Contact Your State Senator and Senate President Alario 

Senate contact information and help on what to include in your message are found below.
Don't forget to confirm your action.  This helps us know that every Senator has heard your message. 

 

2. Attend Yellow Shirt Day at the Capitol TOMORROW

Contact your LaCAN Team Leader if you would like to attend.

Carpooling options may be available in your area.  
Wear yellow! This will identify you as being in support of disability services.
LaCAN shirts are available upon request. 
Arrive early to get a seat in the room!
We will send the time the Senate convenes as soon as it is available. 

 

Sample Message

Include in your message:  

"Please restore the funding the House added for the Individual and Family Support Program and Families Helping Families.  These services are vital to thousands of Louisiana citizens with developmental disabilities and their families to help them endure the wait for waiver services."

 

Personalize your message:  

Share how these services have (or would) improve the quality of life for you and/or your loved one.

Contact Your State Senator and Senate President John Alario

Call the Senate switchboard at 225-342-2040

to speak directly with your State Senator on the Senate Floor or leave a message.
The Senate is on the Floor this morning. 

 

AND

 

Email Senate President
John Alario
alarioj@legis.la.gov

 

AND

 

Email Your State Senator

If you do not know your Senator, click here and enter your home address to find out. 

The second name listed will be your State Senator.

 

 

Robert Adley

(318) 965-1755

adleyr@legis.la.gov

 

John Alario Jr

(504) 340-2221

alarioj@legis.la.gov

 

R.L."Bret" Allain II

(337) 828-9107

allainb@legis.la.gov

 

Jody Amedee

(225) 644-1526

amedeej@legis.la.gov

 

Conrad Appel

(504) 838-5550

appelc@legis.la.gov

 

Sharon Broome

(225) 359-9352

lasen15@legis.la.gov

 

Troy E. Brown

(985) 369-3333

brownte@legis.la.gov

 

Sherri Smith Buffington

(318) 687-4820

smithbuffington@legis.la.gov

 

Norby Chabert

(985) 858-2927

chabertn@legis.la.gov

 

Dan Claitor

(225) 765-0206

claitord@legis.la.gov

 

Page Cortez

(337) 993-7430

cortezp@legis.la.gov

 

AG Crowe

(985) 643-3600

crowea@legis.la.gov

 

Jack Donahue

(985) 727-7949

donahuej@legis.la.gov

 

Yvonne Dorsey-Colomb

(225) 342-9700

dorseyy@legis.la.gov

 

Dale Erdey

(225) 686-2881

erdeyd@legis.la.gov

 

"Rick" Gallot

(318) 251-5019

gallotr@legis.la.gov

 

Elbert Guillory

(337) 943-2457

guillorye@legis.la.gov

 

David Heitmeier

(504) 361-6356

heitmeierd@legis.la.gov

 

Ronnie Johns

(337) 491-2016

johnsr@legis.la.gov

 

Bob Kostelka

(318) 362-3474

kostelka@legis.la.gov

 

Eric LaFleur

(337) 363-5019

lafleure@legis.la.gov

 

Gerald Long

(318) 628-5799

longg@legis.la.gov

 

Daniel Martiny

(504) 834-7676

martinyd@legis.la.gov

 

Fred Mills

(337) 365-8484

millsf@legis.la.gov

 

Jean-Paul Morrel

(504) 284-4794

morrelljp@legis.la.gov

 

Blade Morrish

(337) 824-3979

morrishd@legis.la.gov

 

Edwin Murray

(504) 945-0042

murraye@legis.la.gov

 

Ben Nevers

(985) 732-6863

neversb@legis.la.gov

 

Barrow Peacock

(318) 741-7180

peacockb@legis.la.gov

 

Jonathan Perry

(337) 643-6425

perryj@legis.la.gov

 

Karen Carter Peterson

(504) 568-8346

petersonk@legis.la.gov

 

Neil Riser

(318) 649-0977

risern@legis.la.gov

 

Gary L. Smith, Jr.

(985) 764-9122

smithgl@legis.la.gov

 

John Smith

(337) 238-2709

smithj@legis.la.gov

 

Gregory Tarver

(318) 227-1499

tarverg@legis.la.gov

 

Francis Thompson

(318) 878-9408

thompsof@legis.la.gov

 

Michael Walsworth

(318) 340-6453

walsworthm@legis.la.gov

 

"Rick" Ward

(225) 246-8838

wardr@legis.la.gov

 

Mack "Bodi" White, Jr

(225) 272-1324

whitem@legis.la.gov


Confirm Your Action

 Don't forget to let us know that you took action!  

Reply to this email or notify your LaCAN Leader to confirm your action.

 

Why confirm your action?  This helps us to know how effective we are in reaching you with this
information and engaging members across our state in advocacy for systems change. 

Contact Us

If there are any questions about the information in this email, contact LaCAN by replying to this email, or calling the toll free number listed below. 

email: info@lacanadvocates.org

phone: 1-800-450-8108

web: www.lacanadvocates.org


Like us on Facebook  
LaCAN is an initiative of the Louisiana Developmental Disabilities Council.