Building an Active & Informed Native American Electorate
November 12, 2018

Thank you to everyone who worked on, volunteered on or voted this election season! We make the best decisions when we make it together.
We made history together helping to elect New Mexico's first Native American Woman to Congress in Deb Haaland. Congressional District 2 for the first time ever, sends a woman, Xochitl Torres-Small to congress. We elected a new Governor with historically high Native turnout for a midterm.
We did it!
Through the hard work, determination, and dedication of everyone who voted, or worked on getting others to vote, New Mexico did it's job, and showed up to vote! At NAVA we are confident that as a whole we made the right decisions, and most of our endorsements were successful! Congratulations, to our newly elected officials, and we look forward to working with you. Here is a list of all of the candidates we selected, who were victorious last Tuesday:

  • Martin Heinrich for Senate
  • Deb Haaland for Congressional District 1
  • Xochitl Torres-Small for Congressional District 2
  • Ben Ray Lujan for Congressional District 3

  • Michelle Lujan-Grisham for Governor
  • Maggie Toulouse-Oliver for Secretary of State
  • Stephanie Garcia-Richard for Commissioner of Public Lands

  • Anthony Allison for House District 4
  • Doreen Wonda Johnson for House District 5
  • Patricia Roybal-Caballero for House District 13
  • Daymon Ely for House District 23
  • Liz Thomson for House District 24
  • Georgene Louis for House District 26
  • Natalie Figueroa for House District 30
  • Derrick Lente for House District 65

  • Stephen Fischmann for District 5
  • Theresa Becenti-Aguilar for District 4

Native American Voters Alliance