June 2022 | Issue 15
IHS PARTNER SPOTLIGHTS
Two PATHways to Success this Month:
Leveraging Staff Turnover as a Team-Building Opportunity
Dealing with staff turnover at a health care facility is always a challenge. However, challenges can often offer new options and different directions that might lead to great success.

Taking Steps to Better Care for Stroke Patients
With the prevalence of stroke-related deaths and associated risk factors on the rise among American Indian and Alaska Native populations, learning about evidence-based protocols and treatments can be life-saving. One IHS facility is taking steps to better care for stroke patients in their health care community.

MEN'S EVENT SHOUT OUT
FOR MEN'S HEALTH MONTH
One IHS unit's outpatient department did an outstanding job hosting a well attended men’s event, stressing preventive health and providing lunch and some fun and activities for those men who attended.
Partnering with the Tribal Health Board, the unit sponsored a weekend men's health clinic where male patients were screened for diabetes, colorectal cancer, sexually transmitted diseases, depression, cholesterol and immunizations. The unit team also provided vaccinations. 

The event included a car and motorcycle show with the local American Legion chapter and others. Lunch was provided by the Tribal Health Board for male patients who completed their screening. It was an uplifting event for staff, and patients expressed their appreciation.
UPCOMING EVENTS

Huddles are short sessions on a single topic to promote rapid sharing of the latest information, guidance and promising practices. Attendees are not required to attend every session. This Huddle series will tackle clinical harm topics such as pressure injuries, hospital-acquired infections, adverse drug events, and more. This series aims to support health care teams in their efforts to provide safe and high-quality care. Register for the series today!
Series Information: 
  • Day: Every Wednesday through July 27 (No session on July 6 due to July 4 holiday.)
  • Time: 4:00-4:30 p.m. EDT l 3:00-3:30 p.m. CDT | 2:00-2:30 p.m. MDT | 1:00-1:30 p.m. PDT 
  • Read more about this series, including session topics and objectives, on our Participant Syllabus.
  • Register here.
A Primer on Healthcare-associated Infection Surveillance and Mapping Facility Locations
Tuesday, July 12 | 1-3 p.m. ET | 12-2 p.m. CT | 11 a.m. - 1 p.m. MT

Join the Partnership to Advance Tribal Health (PATH), as we host the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and Indian Health Service (IHS) for a focused discussion on robust healthcare-associated infection (HAI) surveillance, including typing surveillance locations correctly.

This event will outline methods for the development of a vigorous and efficient HAI surveillance plan in a health care facility, as well as provide guidance to ensure facility locations are mapped correctly within the National Health Safety Network (NHSN) system. A case study and question-and-answer portion will be included. This event is free, but registration is required.
This material was prepared by Comagine Health for the American Indian Alaska Native Healthcare Quality Initiative under contract with the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), an agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Views expressed in this material do not necessarily reflect the official views or policy of CMS or HHS, and any reference to a specific product or entity herein does not constitute endorsement of that product or entity by CMS or HHS. NQIIC-AIHQI-221-06/19/2022