May 2014
League Dues

League dues are:

Single: $60.00

Family:  $90.00

How much is tax deductible?  $75.00

Quick Links


Government Accountability Board
Annual Meeting
Radisson Hotel, 5:30 social, 6:15 dinner; 7:15 pm meeting
League of Women Voters
              of the La Crosse Area
The President's Podium
Jane Klekamp, President, LWV of La Crosse Area
Please join us for the annual meeting on Monday, May 19th at the Radisson Hotel.  
As another year rolls around it's time to recharge, reorganize, and re-energize for the voting season. I want to take this opportunity to thank the board and other volunteers who do an incredible amount of work to ensure the League of Women Voters of the La Crosse Area provides quality programs, newsletter, the website, and voter registration, along with the day to day tasks such as the budget, minutes, taking RSVP's, and minding the checkbook.  
Thanks to everyone who helps out!


Annual Meeting on Monday, May 19th

Nominating Committee Chair: Carolyn Mahlum-Jenkins


The local League of Women Voters Annual Meeting will be held on Monday, May 19, 2014 at the Radisson Hotel, 200 Harborview Plaza, La Crosse, Wisconsin. 


The annual meeting is scheduled as follows:  5:30 pm cocktails, 6:15 pm dinner, and 7:15 pm meeting.  


All members please consider joining the meeting.  It is an evening of socialization, good food & spirits, and of course business.


Choice of Menu - $15.00 Per Person

1)  Pork Tenderloin Medallions, Garden Greens with Choice of Dressing, Chef's choice of Fresh Vegetables, and Oven Roasted Yukon Golds


2)  Spinach Filled Ravioli, Grilled Portobello, Summer Squash,-Roasted Red Pepper, Tomato Basil Jus, and Garden Greens with Choice of Dressing


3)  Petite Breast of Chicken - Stuffed with Goat Cheese, Spinach and Ham, Veloute Sauce, Chef's Choice of Fresh Vegetable,  and Oven Roasted Yukon Golds


Dinner Rolls and Butter


Freshly Brewed Decaffeinated Coffee, Hot and Iced Teas

RSVP Nancy Hill  (608) 782-1753 or


Notice of Nominations

One of the topics for the annual meeting is the nomination of Officers and Directors.  It is required by Board policy that nominations are made public to the general membership one month prior to the annual meeting.  Also any voting member may make nominations from the floor, on the night of the annual meeting provided the consent of the nominee shall have been secured.


2014-2016 Officers/ Slate of Nominees


Secretary- Sandy Sechrest

Treasurer- Dee Peacock


2014-2016 Board of Directors/Slate of Nominees

Maureen Kinney

Carolyn Mahlum-Jenkins

Deb Lutjen

Kathy Mulliner

Mary Nugent

2015-2016 Nominating Committee/Slate of Nominees

Nominating Chair-Carolyn Mahlum-Jenkins

League Members-Janet Kusch & Judy Swantz

Board of Directors-Maureen Kinney & Ellen Frantz




Voter Services Update 
Ellen Frantz, Voter Services 


Voter Services assisted in two forums before the April 1st election, one for the Holmen School District and one for a race for a Trempealeau County Board supervisor.  Nancy Hill and Mary Nugent kept the candidates on time.  It was the first time we had been asked to travel to Whitehall and work with the county's community tv station.  Thanks to Nancy and Mary for helping out.  And to Nancy Danou to keeping us company on the ride up and back.  Ellen Frantz, Voter Services. 


Below is a thank you note received from the Holmen School Board & Administration in appreciation of the LWV service at the Candidate Forum. 


Legislative Breakfast
The LWV of the La Crosse Area Legislative Breakfast will be held:

April 26, 2014
8:30 a.m. 
Riverjack's (Best Western Hotel)
Cost is $14

Senator Shilling, Representative Billings, and Congressman Kind have RSVP'd for the event, along with a long-standing breakfast attendee and participant, John Medinger, staff to Senator Tammy Baldwin. 

If you are interested in attending, please RSVP to Nancy Hill at by Friday, 4/18  

Ag Lunch & Learn Photos
Nancy Hill


Betty Kruck and friends.


March 18 Brown Bag Program
Nancy Hill


Darin Van Ruden, WI Farmer's Union President at with George Kruck, George & Cindy Waltershausen, Nancy Danou, Maureen Kinney, and Dae Oleson 
Agriculture Study
Nancy Hill


Maureen Kinney, Ellen Rosborough, Betty Kruck, Dr. Peter Nelson, and Carla Townsend participate in the agriculture study.

Text | Link