March 2, 2020
LEGISLATIVE UPDATE!!!

Legislative Alert on CCNA: 
Action Requested Today



An amendment was filed and passed last week on  HB 613 - Higher Education  which will allow the State University System to circumvent the qualifications-based selection process of the Consultants' Competitive Negotiation Act (CCNA). The amendment was filed at 8:00 pm on February 25th, and added to HB 613 at 9:00 am on February 26 with no input from the engineering or design community.

The language, being pushed by the University of Florida Board of Trustees, strikes a sentence in F.S. 1001.706(7)(a) which states - Notwithstanding any other provisions of this subsection, each board of trustees shall comply with the provisions of s. 287.055 for the procurement of professional services as defined therein.

We need your help contacting members of the Senate Appropriations Committee, the Florida Board of Trustees, and the Florida Board of Governors communicating our opposition to this amendment being added to the Senate companion bill  SB 72: Post-secondary Education .

The bill SB 72 is sponsored by Senator Kelli  Stargel , and will be heard in the Senate Appropriations tomorrow, 03/03/20, at 1:00 pm. Our message to Senator Stargel and the committee members is to keep this amendment off of the bill. 

Please email and or call the Senate Appropriations Committee TODAY:
(First Name Last Name | District | Local Delegation(s) | Local Phone | Email Address)
 
Rob Bradley (Chair) | 5 | Baker, Bradford, Clay, Columbia, Dixie, Gilchrist, Lafayette, Levy, Marion, Suwannee, Union | (850) 487-5005 |  bradley.rob@flsenate.gov

Wilton Simpson (Vice Chair) | 10 | Citrus, Hernando, Pasco | (850) 487-5010 |  simpson.wilton@flsenate.gov

Aaron Bean | 4 | Duval, Nassau | (850) 487-5004 |  bean.aaron@flsenate.gov

Lizbeth Benacquisto | 27 | Lee | (850) 487-5027 |  benacquisto.lizbeth@flsenate.gov

Lauren Book | 32 | Broward | (850) 487-5032 |  book.lauren@flsenate.gov

Jeff Brandes | 24 | Pinellas | (850) 487-5024 |  brandes.jeff@flsenate.gov

Oscar Braynon II | 35 | Broward, Miami-Dade | (850) 487-5035 |  braynon.oscar@flsenate.gov

Anitere Flores | 39 | Miami-Dade, Monroe | (850) 487-5039 |  flores.anitere@flsenate.gov

George Gainer | 2 | Bay, Holmes, Jackson, Okaloosa, Walton, Washington | (850) 487-5002  gainer.george@flsenate.gov

Audrey Gibson | 6 | Duval | (850) 487-5006 |  gibson.audrey@flsenate.gov

Travis Hutson | 7 | Flagler, Putnam, St. Johns, Volusia | (850) 487-5007   Hutson.Travis@flsenate.gov

Tom Lee | 20 | Hillsborough, Pasco, Polk | (850) 487-5020 |  lee.tom@flsenate.gov

Debbie Mayfield | 17 | Brevard, Indian River | (850) 487-5017 |  mayfield.debbie@flsenate.gov

Bill Montford | 3 | Calhoun, Franklin, Gadsden, Gulf, Hamilton, Jefferson, Leon, Liberty, Madison, Taylor, Wakulla | (850) 487-5003 |  montford.bill@flsenate.gov

Kathleen Passidomo | 28 | Collier, Hendry, Lee | (850) 487-5028|  passidomo.kathleen@flsenate.gov

Bobby Powell | 30 | Palm Beach | (850) 487-5030 |  powell.bobby@flsenate.gov

Darryl Ervin Rouson | 19 | Hillsborough, Pinellas | (850) 487-5019 |  rouson.darryl@flsenate.gov

David Simmons | 9 | Seminole, Volusia | (850) 487-5009 |  simmons.david@flsenate.gov

Kelli Stargel | 22 | Lake, Polk | (850) 487-5022 |  stargel.kelli.web@flsenate.gov

Linda Stewart | 13 | Orange | (850) 487-5013 |  stewart.linda@flsenate.gov

Perry E. Thurston, Jr. | 33 | Broward | (850) 487-5033 |  thurston.perry@flsenate.gov

University of Florida Board of Trustees:  ufbot@ufl.edu  (352) 392-1358
The Florida Board of Governors:  kristin.whitaker@flbog.edu  (850) 245-9717


SAMPLE EMAIL:

As the 2020 Legislative season is speeding towards the finish line, new language has unexpectedly been proposed to exempt state universities from current public procurement requirements for professional design services. In fact, the House approved an amendment to HB 613 to do just that.

Florida’s public procurement process for the design and construction of public buildings, the Consultants’ Competitive Negotiation Act (CCNA), is the gold standard nationally. Enacted in 1973, the Act ensures transparent selection and acquisition of services from the most qualified design professionals including land surveyors, architects, engineers and landscape architects. This qualifications-based selection process is used by all public bodies, including universities, across the state.

Overnight, the university system seeks to be excluded without any justification and without discussion with affected parties. An exemption is contrary to sound public policy and should not be changed without extensive discussion involving all stakeholders. There has been no substantive evaluation, no committee review, nor any evidence provided to support this amendment. 

I request you REJECT this attempt to bypass the substantive committee process and reverse state procurement policy. 

Please oppose any attempts to amend SB 72 or any other germane vehicle with this amendment.

Sincerely,
Insert Your Name
Insert your City, State
Insert your Firm


Florida Surveying & Mapping Society
1689-A Mahan Center Boulevard, Tallahassee, FL 32308.
   Phone: (850) 942-1900